A Contest Entry Highlight – Gluten-Free Recipe


One of the recipes that has been entered into the “Give the Oven a Rest” Recipe Contest is from Amie V, from NY City, my fave city.   Bravo Amie for submitting a Gluten-Free recipe. It sounds great. I’d like to try black garlic myself. Amie’s blog is entitled The Healthy Apple. I noticed she likes sushi and boy, I’m a fan too.  Good luck Amie and here is her recipe. Read her blog at: www.thehealthyapple.com

Gluten-Free Black Garlic Risotto Cakes

Ingredients
  • 2 bulbs of black garlic, unpeeled
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 parsnips, finely chopped
  • 2 cups risotto
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • Sea salt and pepper
  • Nori flakes, for topping
  • Olive oil for cooking
  • Almond flour
  • Tomato sauce, for topping
Directions
  • Coat garlic with 1 Tbsp. olive oi; puree in a food processor.
  • Heat 2 Tbsp. olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add parsnips and onion.  Cook until onion is translucent.  Add risotto and cook an additional 5 minutes.  Add wine and let evaporate.
  • When wine has evaporated completely, add vegetable broth slowly, letting each addition evaporate before adding more.
  • When risotto is fully cooked, remove from heat; add in nutritional yeast, garlic puree, balsamic vinegar and basil.  Season with sea salt and pepper.
  • Transfer into a large bowl; set aside to cool.
  • Cover and refrigerate for 2-3 hours.
  • Shape risotto into patties; place onto a baking sheet.
  • Cover and place into the fridge for 1 1/2 hours.  Place almond flour in a dish; coat each cake with flour.
  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add risotto cakes and cook until golden brown and cooked through; approximately 4 minutes per side.
  • Transfer patties to a plate lined with paper towels to drain.  Repeat with additional risotto cakes.
  • Serve warm with fresh tomato sauce and a sprinkle of nori flakes.
  • Enjoy!

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

