Highlight: Red Skinned Potato Salad


Three strips of cooked turkey bacon

Image via Wikipedia

Another recipe from my blog’s “Give the Oven a Rest” Recipe Contest comes to us from Angie W. from Stryker, Ohio.

In Angie’s Red Skinned Potato Salad she chops her bacon before frying it. Not to mention using turkey bacon to include in this scrumptious potato salad helps us keep our trim figures. You Go Girl!!!

This is definitely one for the recipe list in your house. You can view her other fine recipes, including a Cold Veggie Pizza on her blog located at http://www.alilcountrysugar.blogspot.com

Red Skinned Potato Salad

2 pounds clean (washed) red potatoes (I used about 12 to 14 medium potatoes)
6 eggs (hard boiled)
1 pound turkey bacon
4 green onions, finely chopped
1 stalk celery, finely chopped (I used 2 celery heart stalks)
1 3/4 c. Hellmann’s mayonnaise with olive oil
1/4 c. ranch salad dressing
salt and pepper to taste (I only used fresh ground pepper, no salt)
Paprika sprinkled on top
Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add potatoes (whole) and cook until tender but still firm, about 15 minutes (mine took a little longer). Drain and set in the refrigerator to cool.
Chop onion, celery, and eggs while bacon is cooking. I cut my bacon in pieces before I fried it.
Chop the cooled potatoes, leaving the skin on. Add to a large bowl, along with eggs, bacon, onion, and celery. Add mayonnaise, ranch dressing, salt and pepper. Sprinkle with paprika. Chill for an hour before serving.
About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

