Do You Start Your Day Hopping Thru Hoops?


Some days are busy ones in our house. How about yours? Do ALL of your weekdays seem filled full of hustle and bustle?? No time for breakfast for yourself?

Over the weekend, I created a cool and refreshing “Busy Mom’s Breakfast Smoothie”.  I’ve been there when breakfast seems like such an undertaking and the end result, you know, ends up being nothing for breakfast. The kids are fed, but you’re not. Dad’s will also like this concoction as well!!

Simply throw the following ingredients into a blender and pour into a Styrofoam or plastic cup and grab a straw and you’re out the door.

2 frozen bananas
2 scoops Fat Free Coffee-flavored Ice Cream
1 container Dannon Activia strawberry cheesecake  yogurt or Vanilla yogurt
¼ cup pulp-free orange juice
¼ tsp. cinnamon (optional)
The recipe calls for coffee-flavored ice cream….if you’re a coffee drinker, bless your heart. I’m thinking about you. This way you get that much needed coffee kick. If you wish to have just a little more, just add 1/4 cup brewed coffee that has cooled to this recipe.

If you’re not much on the coffee kick, that’s alright, the coffee flavor really isn’t a dominant flavor in this smoothie.

I used Activia brand in order to keep that digestive tract in order, but you can sub any other brand you prefer. Greek yogurt may have a lot of carbs, but great on the protein if you need more protein, you can certainly use that.

Also, for the juice you could sub out more flavors if you prefer.

This recipe creates either one large 16 oz. cup or 2 small 8oz. cups.  Using frozen bananas really does create a great texture and no need to rob the ice maker of all that wonderful ice.

Drink up – and don’t be late!!
About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Bananas, Breakfast, Coffee, Fruit, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

