I WON IN THE RWOP COOKING CONTEST!


Well, it was March when I heard of Paula Deen teaming up with Kraft for a Huge cooking/recipe contest using Kraft Philadelphia cream cheese. My mouth watered and before I knew it, I had started a journey.

The first phase of the Real Women of Philadelphia (RWOP) recipe contest was video submitted recipes.  Video taping and presenting recipes is a whole different beast from simply coming up with a recipe of your own to enter. It can be very tiresome and aggravating, to say the least. But I learned so very much from that part of the contest.

The second phase, of which is going on now,  is open to amateurs only and is based solely on the recipe with photos optional. I knew when I first read about this contest that phase 2 was my “cup of tea.” I knew that with a lot of creativity I should be able to handle phase 2 of the competition. I was in for a very big surprise. This was almost as hard as phase 1.  There is something I did not realize at the start of the competition. Everyone was entering in phase 2 more than phase 1 and this part was open to men as well. Oh great. I didn’t figure that. Let me tell you, I have seen so many competitive recipes and have tried some for myself. Wow. The competition is tough.

Philly cream cheese

Image via Wikipedia

42 recipes later and after using a whole lot of Kraft Philadelphia cream cheese I have won $500 and triumphed!! (For my winning recipe, simply click here and this will take you to the recipe page on the RWOP website.)

It is not only a relief that I finally accomplished what I set my sights on, but it is such an honor to be among the many winners. This competition is like no other that I’ve been a part of. The website really has given so much to the contestants. So many chances to comment on other’s recipes and to make friends with the other competitors. Friend and competitor in the same sentence, but it really is a community and I’m so glad to be a part of it.

I’m also hoping that my recipe is chosen for the RWOP Cookbook. That would be icing on the cake!!

This was by far one of the most memorable recipe contests I have entered. I’ve only been entering contests since late last year, but I’m certain that I will never be a part of something as big and as rewarding as this competition has been.

My journey hasn’t ended. It has JUST BEGUN!

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Contest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

