Highlight: A “Meal-in-a-Bowl” Recipe


Throughout this month’s “Give the Oven a Rest” Recipe Contest, I have seen many recipes and one has been on my mind for over a week now. I’ve put this in my Fall recipe list. The contributor calls it “a meal-in-a-bowl” recipe.

The recipe comes from Eleanor Day, from way up in Washington State. Ferndale, WA near the Canadian border. Well, I’m sure that Eleanor would know about some comforting, seasonal dishes coming from living there.  Her blog is located at   www.newtofarmlife.blogspot.com

Eleanor stated that “this recipe is a variation on a traditional tabouli salad – I had some vegetarian friends coming over for a summer picnic and was trying to think of a way to turn the salad into a whole meal. The addition of chickpeas makes it hearty and nutritious. With good bread and maybe a yogurt dip and a handful of olives, it makes a lovely light lunch.”

Hearty Tabouli-Chickpea Salad

For a Crowd:

1 cup medium bulgar wheat
1 head romaine lettuce, separated into leafs
2 cans chickpeas (garbonzo beans)
1 bunch green onions, chopped
1 bunch flat leaf parsley, minced
1 bunch (several stems) fresh mint, minced
2-3 large, ripe tomatoes, chopped
8 oz feta cheese (or other tangy, soft cheese), crumbled
1 cup kalamata olives, chopped
juice of two big (or three small) lemons
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

In a kettle, bring some water to a rolling boil. Place bulgar in a large bowl and pour boiling water over to cover. Let sit at least 30 minutes, while you:

Arrange romaine leaves over a large serving platter or bowl.

When Bulgar is softened and water is mostly absorbed, mix in remaining ingredients. Dress salad with lemon juice and olive oil. Toss vigorously. Let sit at least 30 minutes and up to 2 hours. Mound over romaine lettuce leaves on serving platter. Serve with pita or wheat tortillas.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Contest, Fruit, Salad, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

