Highlight: Peeking Around the Dish


I received an entry in my blog’s “Give the Oven a Rest” Recipe Contest from Sheila Christensen of San Marcos, CA. This one stands out simply due to my peeking around the dish.  Since my blog is Angela’s Unique Recipe blog….well, I had to point out this unique contestant; a talented and inspiring person.

Sheila tells me that she’s dreamed of cooking and winning contests most of her life. Early on, the eldest of six children, she used to be one of the primary cooks for her family. In high school , she made homemade bread a couple of times a week for her family and fixed many of the family meals.  Her mother commented about how creative she was in the kitchen and her mother wondered how she could invent such tasty recipes at her early age.

It was only 3 years ago that she won her first recipe contest. She’s been fortunate to have won some very competitive contests and I’m so happy for her.

As a child, like myself,  she used to read Better Homes & Gardens magazines and dreamed of the day of winning a Better Homes & Gardens contest.

Better Homes and Gardens (magazine)

Image via Wikipedia

A couple of years ago, she won first place in a recipe contest co-sponsored by Better Homes & Gardens and Lucky Leaf Pie Filling.  The recipe was for Raspberry Pecan Cream Loaf with Lemon Butter.

She seems like a determined cook and is talented both in and out of the kitchen. She used to be a news correspondent for the Associated Press.

The inspiring part of her story is that Sheila has systemic lupus, and multiple rare medical disorders. Even with her disabilities and traveling to different parts of the country for medical treatments, she has found time to pursue not only her hobbies but founded the Lupus Foundation for the state of Utah.  She was awarded a Carnation Silver Bowl Award for outstanding volunteerism by the governor of Utah.

Unbelievably talented and such a shining star. My praises are small for what this particular cook deserves, but Sheila, “You Go Girl!” And now I present her delectable and easy, no-cook recipe.

Dilly Crab Wraps

Cover of

Cover of Crab: Buying, Cooking, Cracking

8 ounces cream cheese (non fat may be used)
1 TBSP. sour cream
2 tsp. FRESH dill weed
2 TBSP. chopped white onion
2 tsp. chopped FRESH chives
1/4 tsp. horseradish
1/8 tsp sea salt
dash of black pepper, according to taste
1 TBSP. fresh lemon juice
2 2.1 ounce cans of white crab (drain the brine off well)
Six 8-inch tortillas
3/4 cup baby spinach leaves or arugula, rinsed and patted well
1 small cucumber seeded and diced well
2-3 medium fresh tomatoes thinly sliced

Begin by whipping up the cream cheese with the sour cream, dill weed, white onion, chives, horseradish, salt, and pepper in a large mixer or food processor until well blended and creamy.  Drain the brine from the crab (fresh crab or imitation crab flakes may also be used instead).  Pour the fresh lemon juice over the crab and then gently stir crab into the cream cheese mixture.

Prepare the spinach leaves, cucumber and tomatoes.

Spread the cream cheese/crab mixture over a room temperature or slightly warm white or wheat flour tortilla.  Next, sprinkle the chopped cucumbers over the cream cheese/ crab layer.  Then, layer leaves of spinach or arugula over the chopped cucumbers, and then top the cucumbers with the thin layers of fresh tomato.

Carefully roll the tortilla and then cover the “wrap” with plastic wrap.  Store in refrigerator until time to serve, or serve immediately.  Best if served within one hour of preparation.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Seafood, Tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

