The Incredible, Edible Egg!!


I heard from Eggland’s Best today. My recipe, Huevo Arroba de Chorizo – (Egg Strudel with Sausage) won FIRST PRIZE in their Eggland’s Best Simple & Delicious Recipe Contest!

So, it seems I’m going to have to think up more egg recipes since I just won 6 months of Free Eggland’s Best eggs!!!

My recipe:

Huevo Arroba de Chorizo – (Egg Strudel with Sausage)

This recipe takes a breakfast casserole to another level. With the addition of fillo dough, rice, and jalapeno cheese, the bar gets adjusted one more notch. The sausage is very flavorful but doesn’t over-power the dish. This is a great way to use left over rice.

4 Servings

Prep time: 40 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

Ingredients

1/2 pound pork sausage

¼ cup chopped red bell pepper

¼ cup chopped onion

2/3 cup cooked white long grain rice

½ cup plus 2 Tablespoons melted butter, divided

¼ cup milk

4 Eggland’s Best large eggs, beaten

4 oz. queso jalapeno cheese or pepper jack cheese, sliced

10 sheets fillo dough (14 inches x 9 inches), thawed, divided

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a cookie sheet or shallow baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.

Crumble sausage into a skillet; cook over medium heat stirring often for 2 minutes. Add bell pepper and onion. Continue to sauté until sausage is no longer pink and large pieces of sausage are broken up. Add rice. Stir. Turn burner down to medium-low heat.

Combine 2 tablespoons melted butter, milk and beaten eggs in a small mixing bowl. Add to sausage mixture in skillet. Stir to coat evenly. Add slices of cheese over top of skillet. Cheese should melt into mixture. Stir occasionally for eggs to set.

Create pastry. Carefully unroll dough. Place one sheet of fillo on a sheet of waxed paper (keep remaining dough covered with plastic wrap to avoid drying out). Brush with melted butter. Top with a second sheet of dough; brush with butter. Repeat with another 3 sheets of dough; brushing each with butter after layering. Spread 1/2 of skillet mixture along the middle of dough. Fold in sides and then ends. Brush with butter helping to seal. Place seam side down on baking sheet. Repeat to create another strudel.

Cut 3 or 4 small slits in top of each strudel. Brush each top with butter. Bake for 25 minutes or until crisp and lightly browned. Remove from oven and set baking sheet on cooling rack for 5 minutes and sprinkle with tarragon. Serve warm.

Note: Serving with warmed salsa is a great addition.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Contest, Eggs, Pastries/Breads/Muffins, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

