Highlight: A Chicky Bearing Fish


Let me introduce you to Josee Lanzi, aka, “Chicky”. Josee is one of the contestants in my blog’s “Give the Oven a Rest” Recipe Contest.

I also know her and you may know Josee from the Real Women of Philadelphia competition, if you’ve been to the website. She’s not far from the cameras and Paula Deen book signings. Not far from the fishing close to her home, in one of my fave places on earth, Clearwater/St. Petersburg, Florida.

On her blog, http://joseeskitchenletsgetcooking.blogspot.com/, she has created videos showing her fishing talents and her love of cooking. Being originally from Canada, you know that foreign country where they talk “funny”, she uses her French Canadian influences in her cooking.

Also, a little birdie told me that her B-Day was yesterday.  Hoping that little birdie was right….Happy B-Day Chicky!!

Getting back to the contest at hand. Regarding her recipe, Josee states, “I am a crab cake lover but I also love fresh fish so why not a fancy fish cake with a creamy Hollandaise sauce!!!!! Your guests will be impressed these are made with fish and not crab!!”

Fish Cakes Provencal

· Prep time: 15 minutes

· Cook time: 12 minutes

· Total time: 27 minutes

· Servings: 6

· 3/4 pound(s) of Tilapia filet or any other white fish chopped very small ( I use gray snapper)

· 1/4 cup(s) of celery chopped fine

· 1/4 cup onion chopped fine

· 1 egg

· 1 tbsp. of yellow mustard

· 2 tbs fresh lemon juice

· 1 tsp old bay seasoning

· 1 1/4 tbsp. of crushed Ritz crackers

· 2 tbsp. of chopped cilantro

· 2 cup(s) of canola oil

· 1 pack Knorr Hollandaise sauce mix

· 1 cup(s) of milk

Steps

1. In a bowl mix your chopped fish, celery,onion, egg, mustard, cilantro, lemon, old bay seasoning and crushed crackers season with salt & pepper mix well.( I use sea salt) In a deep frying pan add oil and heat to 375 degrees.

2. With a cookie scoop, scoop mixture and place in hand and press into a patty add to oil repeat until all mixture is gone will make 12 patties. Cook approximately 3 minutes on each side until starts to turn a golden color; this is very fast you may have to fry six at a time you do not want to crowd your frying pan. Once you remove the fish cakes from oil place on a plate lined with paper towel to drain excess oil.

3. Next in a small sauce pan add Knorr Hollandaise sauce Packet and milk on medium heat whisk until thicken you will not add butter but once the sauce has thicken!

4. Plate fish cakes serve with Hollandaise sauce and lemon wedges. You may garnish the plates with cilantro and lemon wedges!

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Contest, Fish, Seafood, Tilapia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Highlight: A Chicky Bearing Fish

  1. The newbie says:

    Your blog is so informative keep up the good work!!!!

Leave a Reply

