In Honor of the State Fair: Fried Pickles


The North Carolina State Fair starts this Thursday, October 14th. I am so excited. So, I had to start the week off with a fair-type FRIED EVERYTHING food . . . Fried Pickles.

It’s an easy recipe and a treat for all ages. Also, watch out for the dip . . . It has a surprise ingredient.

Fried Pickles with Red Pepper-Buttermilk Dip

2 Servings:

Ingredients:

2 Huge dill pickles, sliced thick

2 Tbs., or more vegetable oil

1 egg

½ cup, or more plain bread crumbs

½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. pepper

Dip:

3 tsp. Red Pepper Jelly

3 Tbs. Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

Instructions:

Heat oil in small saucepan on medium-high heat. While saucepan heats, whisk egg in 1 tsp. Of water in a small bowl.

Place bread crumbs in a bowl or small plate along with salt and pepper. Combine.

Dredge pickle slice in egg wash

and then roll in bread crumbs.

When a pinch of crumbs are sprinkled in oil and oil bubbles, the pan is ready to fry the pickles. Place breaded pickle slice in oil. Cook for only about 10 seconds or until browned on one side. Turn over and cook about 8 seconds.

Remove slice and place on a plate or paper-towel-lined plate.  Repeat for rest of pickle slices.

Create dip by combining dip ingredients in a small bowl.

Split up dip into 2 small dressing cups and place on plates along with fried pickles. Serve while pickles are warm.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cucumbers/Pickles, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Honor of the State Fair: Fried Pickles

  1. Angie Walker says:

    I ate these a couple weeks ago at Buffalo Wild Wings and automatically fell in love. I am going to try your recipe to compare. They look delish…

    • amrecipes says:

      Thanks Angie, hope you like. If you like a little “heat”, you may want to add a pinch or two of cayenne. Tell me how they come out!!

Leave a Reply

