Good Enough, Even for the Great Pumpkin!


If I was in the field sitting with Linus and waiting  for the Great Pumpkin, I would be munching on these delightfully tasty muffins. (Enough for a small crowd. )

Jack’O Cran Muffins Topped with Walnuts

(pumpkin muffins with cranberries topped with walnuts)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Fill 12-muffin pan with cupcake paper liners or spray with non-stick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine flours, 

baking powder,

baking soda,

nutmeg and mix well.

In a medium bowl combine oil,

eggs,

brown sugar,

honey

and extracts,

mix well.

Stir mixture into the dry ingredients just until batter comes together. Don’t over mix.

In a small bowl add 2 tablespoons of the batter to the cream cheese, mix well and set aside.

Add pumpkin,

cranberries,

and oatmeal to the large bowl of batter

and mix gently until combined.

Spoon and spread about 2 or 3 teaspoons of batter into a muffin cup in pan.

Then spoon and spread about a teaspoon of cream cheese mixture.

Add another 2 or 3 teaspoons of batter to top off the paper-lined cup. Batter should be a little below top of paper liner.

Repeat for remaining muffin cups.

Top with walnuts.

Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes until nice and golden brown and a toothpick inserted comes out with a few moist crumbs clinging to it.

Remove pan from oven and cool in pan for 10 minutes. Serve either warm or at room temperature.

*If you like a sweeter muffin, sub 1/4 cup packed brown sugar instead of the 1 Tbs. Also, add another 1/4 or 1/2 cup of walnuts and add in when adding in the cranberries and have nuts throughout the muffins. Adding them on top isn’t that great looking, but they are a little toasted. Yumm!

Jack’O Cran Muffins Topped with Walnuts

Yields: 12 muffins

prep time: 15 minutes

cook time: 25 minutes

total time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp nutmeg
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs, beaten
1 Tbs. Packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp orange extract
3 oz low fat cream cheese, softened
1 cup canned pumpkin or fresh pumpkin puree
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup or 1 individually packaged maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal
1/4 cup chopped walnuts, for topping (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Fill 12-muffin pan with cupcake paper liners or spray with non-stick cooking spray. 

In a large bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg and mix well.

In a medium bowl combine oil, eggs, brown sugar, honey and extracts, mix well. Stir mixture into the dry ingredients just until batter comes together. Don’t over mix.

In a small bowl add 2 tablespoons of the batter to the cream cheese, mix well and set aside.

Add pumpkin, cranberries, and oatmeal to the large bowl of batter and mix gently until combined.

Spoon and spread about 2 or 3 teaspoons of batter into a muffin cup in pan. Then spoon and spread about a teaspoon of cream cheese mixture. Add another 2 or 3 teaspoons of batter to top off the paper-lined muffin. Batter should be a little below top of paper liner. Repeat for remaining muffin cups. Top with walnuts.

Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes until nice and golden brown and a toothpick inserted comes out with a few moist crumbs clinging to it.

Remove pan from oven and cool in pan for 10 minutes. Serve either warm or at room temperature.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Pastries/Breads/Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good Enough, Even for the Great Pumpkin!

  1. Angie Walker says:

    Nice, nice, tops on those muffins. I would love to try this, they look amazing.

  2. Angie Walker says:

    You know, come to think of it, I will try this. I have a church function tomorrow and these would be perfect for a treat….Thank you so much for sharing Angela.

  3. amrecipes says:

    Hey Angie. You may want to simply add the cream cheese to your mixture instead of the instructions of placing in between layers. Either way they’re good. If you want a little more moist to ’em, I’d add just a little o.j. instead of the orange extract…..
    Thanks that you like them on paper….I loved the walnuts on top, they tasted like they had roasted and that flavor blended with the pumpkin muffin was delicious!!
    Good luck with them and let me know if you changed and what you did. I truly don’t mind someone changing around a recipe ….that’s what it’s all about!!

    • Angie Walker says:

      I made your muffins, and I am truly in love…..
      I followed your instructions for the first time, but may make some changes the second time.
      I love knowing that these muffins only hold 1 TBS of sugar, and it’s brown sugar.
      Instead of the walnuts I used sweet flaked coconut on top.
      If you don’t mind, I will post the recipe to my blog, all credit to you of course.
      I also cut the muffin in half (when they were cooled) and smeared on pumpkin butter. Apple butter would be good too.
      They are definitely going to my church function tomorrow.
      Thank you for sharing.

      • amrecipes says:

        Great Angie. I’m glad they worked out and believe me, change them up all you want. It really is a simple recipe if you just add the cream cheese instead of layering the batter and the cream cheese separately. My boyfriend stated when he first took a bite that coconut would be great in them. My feelings exactly. I liked the lighter sugar flavor, but someone may want it to be sweeter.
        The pumpkin butter sounds like a wonderful idea for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

