New Pan Equals New Way, “Right?”


I have a few new gadgets and pans. Among them is a new pizza pan. Well, of course, I HAD to try out this new pan! So, I made a new pizza.  I decided to make the pizza a new way.

I always notice on the label of the pizza dough that there is another way to bake the pizza. Bake the crust first, bare, without the toppings, for a crispier crust. We like crispy!

This is a very easy pizza recipe. I’m sure your family enjoys other variations on using store-bought pizza dough, fresh vegetables, lots of cheese, pizza sauce and pepperoni.

So I unrolled and spread out the refrigerated pizza dough onto my new pizza pan. Sprinkled some oregano (about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon) over the dough

and popped the pan into the oven for 6 minutes. (The instructions stated 8 minutes, but being the first time, I was being a little apprehensive.)

The dough had puffed up nicely. If it is puffed too much, simply poke with a fork and the pizza dough will slowly “deflate”.  I started spreading on the Dei Fratelli pizza sauce. 

I sprinkled some Parmesan cheese over the top of the pizza sauce.

I had sliced a bell pepper and a small Italian (purple) onion. I then placed the slices into a bowl with a sprinkle of Italian seasoning and placed the bowl into the microwave for a few minutes. The reason behind cooking these slices of vegetables prior to placing on the pizza is so that you do not have a lot of extra juices from these on top of a pizza. (Nothing worse than swimming pepperoni in a pool of juice in the middle of your pizza.)

I placed pepperoni slices around the pizza. 

I then placed the hot onion and bell pepper slices and a few sliced white mushrooms over the top of the pizza. I then sprinkled pizza cheese over the entire face of the pizza and placed the pan into the oven. I baked per pizza dough instructions at 400 degrees F since my pan was a dark, non-stick pan.

I peaked, as usual,  about 6 minutes into the baking…

I kept the pizza baking and after 5 more minutes, it was Pizza time!!!

Good to last fork full!!

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Pizza, Tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

