Refining a Southern Favorite


I ran across one of my fave recipes the other day. I had entered a video for this recipe in the Kraft Real Women of Philadelphia (RWOP) Video/Recipe Contest earlier this year. This recipe reminds me of growing up and my mom baking homemade cornbread. This is a “refined” spin on that southern cornbread.

Funny story regarding this video. You’ll notice that after about 5 minutes into the video, the lighting changes and is darker. Well, I had taped the beginning of the video and when I had just put the cake into the oven the phone rang. It was my boyfriend’s mother who lives up the road from us. Her blood pressure was elevated and needed my assistance. I quickly grabbed my keys and “ran” up the road. Meanwhile the cake was in the oven. Thank goodness she had a nurse on the phone and her sister had arrived as well. So, not only was her BP getting back to normal, but my cake came out perfect!! When I got back home and started the camera again, I was so frazzled; I didn’t even notice the lighting in the house at the time. I chalked it up to being A “newbie” at the camera.

Glazed Orange Cornbread Cake with Zingy Raspberry Sauce

Vodpod videos no longer available.

8 -10 Servings

prep time: 15 minutes

cook time: 42 minutes

INGREDIENTS

CAKE

1 ½ cups all purpose flour

1/3 cup yellow cornmeal

3/4 cup sugar

3 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

6 oz. KRAFT® Philadelphia cream cheese, room temperature

½ cup milk plus 2 teaspoons vinegar, at room temperature

3 large eggs

1 tablespoon finely grated orange peel

¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon orange KRAFT® Kool-Aid packet

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted, cooled

GLAZE

1 ½ cups (packed) confectioner’s sugar, sifted

2 tablespoons (or more) fresh orange juice

1/8 teaspoon orange KRAFT® Kool-Aid

SAUCE

14 ounces frozen raspberries, thawed (or 3 cups fresh raspberries), divided

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon peel

2/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 350°F. Butter 9-inch-diameter cake pan with 2-inch-high sides. Line bottom with parchment or waxed paper.

Combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt in large bowl; whisk to blend. Beat cream cheese, eggs, lemon peel, and vanilla in medium mixing bowl with hand mixer. Pour cream cheese mixture and melted butter into flour mixture. Using rubber spatula, gently fold liquids into flour mixture until just blended (do not stir). Batter should be chunky not creamy. Scrape batter into pan; spread evenly.

Bake cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean and cake pulls away from sides of pan, about 30 minutes.

While cake bakes, create the glaze. Combine powdered sugar, Kool-aid and 2 tablespoons orange juice in bowl. Whisk until smooth and paste-like, adding more orange juice by 1/2 teaspoonfuls if glaze is too thick to spread. Set aside.

Remove cake from oven. Immediately run knife around sides of cake. Place plate atop cake in pan. Using oven mitts, hold pan and plate firmly together and invert cake onto plate. Remove pan from cake. Place another plate on bottom of cake; invert 1 more time so that cake is top side up.

Whisk glaze until blended. While cake is still very hot, slowly pour glaze onto cake; spread to within 1/2 inch of edge (some glaze may drip down sides of cake). Cool completely.

Create sauce by combining 1-1/2 cups raspberries and all remaining ingredients in medium saucepan. Stir over medium heat until sugar dissolves and mixture comes to simmer, about 6 minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until berries are very soft and liquid is syrupy, stirring often, about 6 minutes. Remove from heat; add remaining raspberries. Lightly crush a few of the raspberries against the side of the pan. Turn off heat and cool slightly prior to serving.

Plate a piece of cake and slowly spoon a couple of tablespoons of warm sauce over cooled cake. Continue with other pieces of sliced cake.

ENJOY!


Corn Bread

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Fruit, Sauces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Refining a Southern Favorite

  1. Angie Walker says:

    I have a favorite cornbread cake of my own, but the orange glaze sounds wonderful. I may try my cornbread cake in a bundt pan with orange glaze. Love the video too….Funny story. Glad everything and everyone turned out ok.

  2. Alisa says:

    I’m also glad everything turned out well.Love watching your videos.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this Foodista widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about corn breads, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

