It’s the Little Things. . .


I was trying to decide on what to create here at my table for everyone to be able to take and share with others this holiday season when I decided on cheese straws. And of course, I wanted to add just a simple twist to the recipe. Something simple and flavorful as cheese straws was  a good idea.

You know how you get an idea, but then when you finally complete the recipe you want to create, you end up with something just a little different? Well, that’s sort of what happened this time. I saw Paula Deen’s Zesty Cheese Straws recipe online and took it from there. However, when they were complete, I decided to call them wafers due to the way I prepared them. They looked a lot more like wafers than straws. I substituted the cheddar cheese that was called for and (you know me) added a pizza cheese blend instead.  (I make way too many home made pizzas, evidentially) The pizza cheese blend has lots of mozzarella with a little cheddar mixed in. I also substituted a garlic salt blend spice for regular salt. I love garlic, so this really added a simple twist to the recipe. Other than the whiter dough that I created, these tasted very similar to the cheese straw flavor I had remembered.

When you make these, you can design them anyway you would like. And, when you serve these savory bites to your guests, they will remember these until the next time they visit. I’ve often heard that it’s really the little things that your guests will remember more so than those elaborate marvels you intended on them remembering.

So, I have to say, I was delighted when these little bites came out tasting so great. It’s a wonder that they all lasted without me gobbling them all up. I placed them nice and tidy into a plastic bag for my mom to tote all the way to Tennessee. She’s going to visit her sisters and other nieces and nephews and my brother and myself are remaining here in the tarheel state for the big Turkey day. So, I wanted to share some of my holiday tidings with everyone there. So, the next couple of recipes you see here are also headed in that direction as well.

Here’s hoping that your guests ask for that recipe! Enjoy!

Pizza Cheese and Garlic Wafers (Biscuits)

Yields: 3 1/2 – 4 dozen (depends on how large and the shape of your wafers)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature

2 cups shredded pizza cheese blend, at room temperature

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons (Lawry’s) garlic salt blend

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 300°F. Spray a large cookie sheet with cooking spray.

Put all ingredients into a large mixing bowl and mix with a hand mixer until blended but still chunky. Knead with hands for about 3 minutes until it comes together into a soft dough.

Pinch a small amount from the large mound and roll to form a ball in hand. Then flatten and lay on cookie sheet. Take a fork and indent marks on wafer. Repeat for rest of dough.    OR    Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface to about 1/8″ thick and cut into whatever fancy shapes you have cutters for.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden. Remove to racks to cool.

Cheese Straws

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Crackers/Wafers, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

