Quiche and The New Creme


This week I entered my first recipe and video into the Real Women of Philadelphia New Cooking Creme Contest for 2011.

For the month of January, I have 2 chances each week to create a recipe & video, since Kraft sent me 2 tubs of each flavor of the NEW Philadelphia Cooking Creme to use in the recipes.

Week #1 is the Italian Cheese and Herb flavored Cooking Creme. Unfortunately the next video turned out to be way too many lighting difficulties and the recipe flopped; who knew that the zucchini pasta pie recipe I made was not going to work….but, Hey, I know now….

So, here is the video entry I made and the recipe follows. These are such great little quiches, I’ll be doing these again for sure!!! Enjoy!

Sun-Dried Tomato Mushroom Square Quiches with Creamy Tomato-Herb Sauce

Yields: 12 Appetizers

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 34 minutes

Total time: 1 hour 4 minutes

Ingredients:

3 to 5 sheets frozen puff pastry dough, thawed

1/2 purple onion, finely chopped

1/4 cup sliced mushrooms, finely chopped

1/2 each orange and yellow bell peppers, seeded and finely chopped

4 large eggs, beaten

1-10 oz. tub Kraft® Philadelphia Italian Cheese and Herb Cooking Creme, divided

1 cup or more half-n-half, divided

1/2 cup Tomato Pesto, divided

1/4 cup diced sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil

1 cup (4oz.) Kraft® with a Touch of Philly shredded Italian Five Cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven at 350°F. Spray a 12 square-hole baking pan with non-stick cooking spray to cover sides and bottom of each section. Set aside.

Unroll 3 to 5 sheets of puff pastry dough and place stacked dough on clean surface. With a knife or pastry cutter, cut dough to fit into bottom only of each square hole of baking pan; 3-inch x 3-inch square. Place dough into bottom of each section of baking pan.

Place onion, mushrooms and bell peppers in a microwave-safe dish and cook in microwave for 3 minutes. Stir. Cook for 1 additional minute. Drain.

Create quiche by whisking eggs, 3/4 cup cooking creme, 3/4 cup half-n-half, 1/4 cup pesto, tomatoes, salt and pepper. Pour into each section of baking pan; filling each half-way. Sprinkle each section with about 1/2 teaspoon of microwaved vegetables and shredded cheese. Stir lightly. Place pan in oven and cook for about 30-35 minutes. Cool in pan for 5 minutes.

While appetizers are baking, create sauce. Combine 1/4 cup tomato pesto, 1/4 cup or more half-n-half (to acquired consistency) and remaining cooking creme in a small microwave-safe bowl. Once ready to serve, heat in microwave for 1 or 2 minutes. Stir.

Place appetizers on plates or serving platter. Drizzle with sauce. Serve warm.

NOTE: Appetizers can be frozen up to 2 months (without sauce).

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cheese, Contest, Eggs, Italian Cuisine, Mushrooms, Sauces, Tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

