Philly Week #2 and an Easy S.W. Dish


My week #2 (Savory Garlic Cooking Creme) Video Entry:

I had never created my own Quesadillas before last week. And now that I have, I don’t think I’ll quit!! It was one of the easiest dishes and if it was only me eating, I would have to say, I probably would have just settled with the quesadillas themselves. However, the avocado salsa in this recipe is just so basic and easy; it’s almost like saying, “why not!” The Kraft Philadelphia Cooking Creme – the Savory Garlic flavor added such a great note to the potato filling inside this potato quesadilla recipe.Not to mention the creaminess and great cheese and garlic flavor added to the sauce. All I have to add to this post, is simply try this at home!! Add what you want and dress it up, if you want. If not….it’s still such a great easy dish that even the kids will LOVE it. My boyfriend isn’t much of a Southwestern-type food eater, he loved it and loved that there were leftovers and created fresh quesadillas the next day!! He only skipped the avocado (the best part, in my mind). Well, I can go on and on….watch the video and get those tortillas!! You’ll love this easy cheesy recipe! Enjoy!

Spicy Potato Quesadillas and Avocado Salsa with Creamy Lime Chile Sauce

Yields: 16 wedges (appetizers) or 4 Quesadillas

8 Servings

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 12 minutes

Total time: 32 minutes

Ingredients:

1-16oz. package precooked mashed potatoes

1-10oz. tub Kraft® Philadelphia Savory Garlic Cooking Creme

1-10oz. can diced tomatoes and chilies with lime juice and cilantro, well-drained, divided

3 green onions, chopped, divided

2 limes, divided

8-8inch flour tortillas

1-8oz. package Kraft® shredded Three Cheese with a Touch of Philadelphia

3 ripe avocados, pitted, peeled and chopped

3 or 4 roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Coat 2 nonstick rimmed baking sheets with butter nonstick cooking spray.

Open packaged potatoes and spoon into a medium, microwave-safe bowl along with Cooking Creme (less 3 Tablespoons) plus 2 Tablespoons of canned tomatoes and chilies. Stir well. Microwave for 2 minutes. Stir.

For sauce, place chile tomatoes, remaining cooking creme, 1 teaspoon lime zest and a dash of each, salt and pepper into food processor. Pulse to mix; blend until smooth.

Arrange 4 of the tortillas on the prepared baking sheets. Divide the potato mixture among the tortillas and spread evenly. Sprinkle about 1 teaspoon chopped onion and about 2 tablespoons cheese over each tortilla. Top each with 1 of the remaining tortillas. Lightly coat the tops with cooking spray. Bake for 5 to 6 minutes. Remove from oven, turn over and bake another 5 or 6 minutes, or until lightly browned and heated through.

Cut each quesadilla into 4 wedges.Create salsa by combining avocado, tomato, and onion in a large bowl. Squirt a couple teaspoons lime juice and salt and pepper to taste.

Plate a couple of quesadilla wedges onto each plate. Top with salsa, dividing among the plates. Drizzle sauce over salsa and wedges or pour sauce into individual dressing cups and serve on the side. Garnish with lime slices and serve while wedges are warm.

Spicy Potato Quesadillas and Avocado Salsa with Creamy Lime Chile Sauce

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, cheddar, Cheese, Contest, Monterey Jack, Potatoes, Sauces, Spanish/Mexican Cuisine, Tomatoes, Tortilla, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philly Week #2 and an Easy S.W. Dish

  1. Angie Walker says:

    I love quesadillas!! This sounds amazing. I cannot wait to get my hands on some of that cooking creme.

Leave a Reply

