Philly Week #2 and Still Keepin’ it Southwestern


The snow and ice that hit North Carolina and much of the Eastern part of the US last week, kept me inside and filming at my house. With another entry into the RWOP Philadelphia Cooking Creme Video Contest, a very versatile Southwestern casserole dish.

My camera wasn’t going to cooperate with out fresh battery power and my fresh batteries and it’s charger was unfortunately over at my mom’s. She only lives 4 miles away….but it was 4 miles of ice and then later in the week it was ONLY ice in my long driveway. That’s living in the country!! What a bummer. But, the show must go on!!  I tried taking photos with the camcorder, what use that was.

So, below the finished product and this really is a tasty casserole and EASY, CHEESY!! A creamy, spicy spanish casserole with lots of rice, corn, fire roasted tomatoes, beans and avocado slices. The casserole is topped with a great “rustic” flare – toasted bread crumbs.

If you’re looking for a dip for that Super Bowl party or another gathering, create this casserole without the bread crumbs on top and the butter. Also, just chop the avocado instead of sliced for the dip. Once the cass comes out of the oven, cool it a little and then fill into your football-shaped dish or that great helmet-shaped dish you’ve been wanting to use. Either who, you’ll be loving the ease and your guests will love the flavor of this cass turned dip. Serve with toasted tortilla triangles. (Add more heat to the casserole before you bake, buy adding a few seeded and chopped jalapeños.)   The recipe follows the video. Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Creamy Rustic Avocado Casserole

Yields: 8 Servings (side dish)

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 32 minutes

Total time: 42 minutes

Ingredients:

1-8.80oz. pkg. microwave-in-package Quick-cook Spanish rice (this recipe used 90second)

1-10oz. tub Kraft Philadelphia Savory Garlic Cooking Creme

1 1/2 cups canned diced fire roasted tomatoes

1-15.5oz. can pinto or kidney beans, drained

1-15 1/4oz. can Fiesta corn (seasoned with red and green peppers)

2 green onions, chopped

1 Haas Avocado, pitted, peeled and sliced

4 slices whole wheat bread cut into 1-inch cubes

3 Tablespoons butter, melted

Instructions:

Preheat oven at 350°F. Spray a 2-quart casserole with non-stick cooking spray.

Heat quick cook rice in microwave.

Lightly combine cooked rice, the next 5 ingredients and 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper in a large mixing bowl.

Pour 3/4 of rice mixture into baking dish and spread to create an even level across dish. Lay sliced avocado, distributing evenly on top. Spread remaining rice mixture on top of avocado slices. Arrange bread cubes on top to cover casserole. Drizzle melted butter over bread cubes.

Place in preheated oven for about 30 minutes; until bread is toasted evenly and casserole is solid with liquid evaporated. Remove from oven and let sit for 5 minutes. Serve warm.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, casserole, Cheese, corn, Side Dish, Spanish/Mexican Cuisine, Tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

