Thinking Outside the Box While Using It


Okay, so you know me, I had to think up a unique recipe using the New Philadelphia cooking creme, the Santa Fe Blend flavor.Everyone in the Real Women of Philadelphia Cooking Creme competition was creating wonderful southwestern dishes and I came up with a bread idea. The Santa Fe Blend is spiced with peppers and red bell peppers.

My recipe may not be what Kraft wanted, but it was pretty good. It’s kind of like the bread that a nice bakery would introduce as what I would call a “yuppy“-type of flavored bread. Something to enjoy with their flavored teas.

I used both the Original flavored Cooking Creme and the Santa Fe Blend. So here’s the video and the recipe follows. Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Toasted-Walnut Coco-Pepper Bread with Coconut Creme Drizzle

Yields: 16 servings

Prep time: 35 minutes (includes 20 minutes cooling time)

Cook time: 25 minutes

Total time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

3 eggs, beaten

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1-10oz. Kraft Philadelphia Santa Fe Blend Cooking Creme

1 box yellow cake mix

2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1-10oz. Kraft Philadelphia Original Cooking Creme, divided

3/4 cup sweetened coconut, divided

1- 6oz. package walnuts pieces, toasted, divided

2 to 3 Tablespoons powdered sugar

2 Tablespoons or more milk

Instructions:

Preheat oven to350°F. Spray (2) 9-inch round glass baking dishes OR (2) 1-qt. loaf pans with butter cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, add first 5 ingredients and Original cooking creme (less 1/4 cup); beat with a hand mixer until smooth. Pack a 1/2 cup with coconut and chop to 1/4-inch pieces. Chop walnuts (less 2 Tablespoons) in a mini-chopper or food processor until well ground, but not powder.

Fold in chopped coconut and powdered walnut. Pour into prepared baking dishes. Bake for 20-25 minutes. (Bake 25-30 minutes for loaf pans.) Once out of oven, cool for at least 20 minutes.

In a small mixing bowl, combine remaining Original cooking creme, powdered sugar and milk. Stir until smooth, add a little more milk or powdered sugar, if necessary.

Once bread has cooled, drizzle glaze over and then sprinkle with remaining coconut and walnut pieces. Serve slices at room temperature.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Coconut, Contest, Desserts, Nuts, Pastries/Breads/Muffins, Walnuts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking Outside the Box While Using It

  1. Angie Walker says:

    I don’t know what to say, but WOW….You have tons of talent. Great job Angela!

Leave a Reply

