Last, but Maybe the Best?


I had entered 2 recipes already for the last week,  Santa Fe Blend week, (a total of 6 so far) for the Kraft Philadelphia Cooking Creme Video Contest in order to win the recipe on the back of the new tubs of Cooking Creme appearing in grocery stores around the country and $2500.00 prize. But, I was thinking of something to fix for our Sunday meal and thought of another quesadilla recipe, and of course, had to submit it.  Simple, easy and lots of cheesy!! Tex-Mex Chicken & Black Bean Quesadillas with Corn Salsa Sounds yummy, right?? Yep, these were the “BOMB!!”

I know I’ve fixed something that most Americans would love when “almost-hubby” likes them. He’s not one for a lot of spice and not one for too “different” of a dish. He does try most everything I fix, “God love him!!” Even though most would turn their nose up if I tell them what exactly is in it. <wink>

These quesadillas are different from the potato quesadillas I had made and entered into the contest a couple of weeks ago. These wedges are filled with chicken breast meat (Oscar Mayer Deli-Fresh) and black beans. Of course, along with the Philadelphia Santa Fe Blend cooking creme and Kraft shredded cheddar cheese.

These quick quesadillas can be fixed for appetizers or what we did, serve them for lunch or dinner.  The corn salsa is so full of lime flavor along with the corn, grape tomatoes, green onions and black beans. A terrific topping for any quesadilla!! The video and recipe follows. Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Tex-Mex Chicken & Black Bean Quesadillas with Corn Salsa

Yields: 16 wedges (appetizers) or 4 Quesadillas

4 Servings

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total time: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

1-10oz. tub Kraft® Philadelphia Santa Fe Blend Cooking Creme

2-6oz. packages Oscar Mayer® Deli-Fresh pre-cooked chicken breast strips

1- 15oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed, divided

3 or 4 green onions, chopped, divided

1-8oz. package Kraft® finely shredded mild cheddar cheese

8-8inch flour tortillas

1 pint grape tomatoes, halved

1-15oz. can yellow corn, well-drained

2 limes

butter flavored cooking spray

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Coat 2 nonstick rimmed baking sheets with butter nonstick cooking spray.

Arrange 4 of the tortillas on the prepared baking sheets. Spread a couple tablespoons of cooking creme with rubber spatula on tortillas. Add pieces of chicken and teaspoons of black beans evenly over cooking creme. Sprinkle about 1 teaspoon chopped onion and about 1/4 cup cheese over each tortilla. Top each with 1 of the remaining tortillas. Lightly coat the tops with cooking spray. Bake for 5 to 6 minutes. Remove from oven, carefully turn over and bake another 5 or 6 minutes, or until lightly browned and heated through. Cut each quesadilla into 4 wedges.

In a large bowl, zest and juice 1 lime. Create salsa by adding tomato, corn and remaining onion and black beans to the same bowl. Salt and pepper to taste. Toss.

Plate a couple of quesadilla wedges onto each plate. Top with salsa, dividing among the plates. Garnish with lime slices and serve while wedges are warm.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, cheddar, Cheese, Chicken, Contest, corn, Meats, Poultry, Sauces, Spanish/Mexican Cuisine, Tomatoes, Tortilla and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last, but Maybe the Best?

  1. Well I am very jealous, I haven’t seen these Philly creme tubs yet. Can’t wait to try.

Leave a Reply

