“Nuts” for Coconuts And Cookies


I was looking in the cabinets for something new to create. So, I decided on German Chocolate Cookies made from cake mix. We had some German Chocolate cake mix on hand, coconut and the other ingredients.

I started with looking online for a recipe using cake mix in the cookie and found the ehow.com article How to Make Delicious German Chocolate Cake Cookies and tweaked the recipe to create my  German Choco-Coco Cookies.

Something simple and sweet. Cookies don’t usually last long in this house! I can tell these won’t last long either!

Preheat oven to 350ºF and line baking/cookie sheet(s) with parchment paper.

Add cake mix,

sugar,

eggs,

oil,

and apple sauce into a large mixing bowl.

With hand mixer, blend until smooth and all combined. (Mixture will become harder to mix.)

Fold in coconut.

Using a large spoon, scoop out dough and place onto cookie sheet(s) spaced about 2 inches apart.

Place the cookie sheet in the oven and bake for 11 – 12 minutes. Remove and let cool on hot cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes then carefully remove parchment and set on wire racks for at least 10 minutes.

Before serving, sift a little powdered sugar on top of cookies (optional)

OR dollop a small spoonful of frosting on top of cookies (optional).

ENJOY!!

German Choco-Coco CookiesYields: About 36-40 Cookies

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 22 minutes

Total time: 42 minutes

Ingredients:

1-(18.25oz.) box German Chocolate Cake Mix

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup oil

1/4 cup apple sauce

1 cup shredded sweetened coconut

powdered sugar for sifting (optional)

1 tub prepared Coconut Pecan Frosting (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350ºF and line baking/cookie sheet(s) with parchment paper.

Add cake mix, sugar, eggs, oil, and apple sauce into a large mixing bowl. With hand mixer, blend until smooth and all combined. (Mixture will become harder to mix.) Fold in coconut.

Using a large spoon, scoop out dough and place onto cookie sheet(s) spaced about 2 inches apart. Place the cookie sheet in the oven and bake for 11 – 12 minutes. Remove and let cool on hot cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes then carefully remove parchment and set on wire racks for at least 10 minutes.

Before serving, sift a little powdered sugar on top of cookies (optional) OR dollop a small spoonful of frosting on top of cookies (optional).

About Angela Milani

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Coconut, Cookies, Desserts, Nuts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “Nuts” for Coconuts And Cookies

  1. Angie Walker says:

    Yummy!….German chocolate cake anything is one of my favorites. In a cookie is a great idea.

Leave a comment