Easy Valentine’s Evening Dish


So, Mr. Kenneth and I didn’t get out like we had first planned to celebrate Valentine’s Day. Which neither of us thought that was a bummer. I looked in the cabinets and the fridge and came up with a quick and easy baked penne pasta dish topped with mozzarella cheese. We both love pasta and we hadn’t eaten a pasta dish in a while, at least, as our main course.  I had half of a box of whole wheat penne pasta on hand.

Whole wheat penne pasta, cooked (right) and un...

Image via Wikipedia

Of course, I also had my Dei Fratelli canned tomato products (from my win in the Dei Fratelli 2010 Ripened Recipe Contest), frozen Italian-style meatballs  and Kraft Philadelphia cooking creme on hand. That was a given. So, I came up with EASY Baked Meatball Penne.

Now, you can always add some mushrooms, spinach, etc. if you would like. The Italian Cheese and Herb Philadelphia Cooking Creme added a lot of herbs and spices and cheese flavors. The blend of this creamy cheese along with the Dei Fratelli whole tomatoes and Traditional sauce made this a hit.

I hope everyone had a terrific Valentine’s Day with their significant others and/or family and friends. Here’s the quick and easy recipe. Enjoy!

EASY Baked Meatball Penne

Yield: 4 servings

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Total: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

16oz. Frozen Italian-style meatballs

Half (13.25oz.) box whole wheat penne pasta, cooked until al dente

5oz. Kraft Italian Cheese and Herb cooking creme

3 Tablespoons Dei Fratelli Traditional pasta sauce

28oz. can Dei Fratelli whole tomatoes

8oz. Kraft shredded mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray 2 qt. glass casserole dish with cooking spray.

Heat frozen meat balls in the prepared baking dish in microwave for 3 minutes. Remove from microwave. Add cooked pasta, cooking creme and sauce. Squeeze in tomatoes and add juice from tomatoes. (For a thicker sauce, do not add juice from tomatoes but add additional 1/4 cup of pasta sauce instead). Toss. Sprinkle entire bag of cheese on top and spread evenly.

Place in oven and bake for 30-35 minutes. Top should be lightly browned. Serve warm.Easy Baked Meatball Penne on FoodistaEasy Baked Meatball Penne

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Beef, Cheese, Contest, Hamburger, Italian Cuisine, Meatballs, Mozzarella, Sauces, Tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Valentine’s Evening Dish

  1. A quick and easy indulgence… I like it. It looks like the perfect treat meal for Valentine’s Day. Lucky you to win a years supply of tomato products!

  2. Angie Walker says:

    I just bought a bag of penne. This looks absolutely delish….I love the roses on your background. Very pretty!!

Leave a Reply

