Vote for My Craving!


I entered my Spicy Turkey and Cheese Stuffed Pillows in the Salsa Sensations WHAT’S YOUR CRAVING CONTEST and now I’m a FINALIST!! Now, I need YOUR HELP! Voting has started and I need your vote!! Please click here to go to the Salsa Sensations Blog and cast your vote for me and my Spicy Turkey and Cheese Stuffed Pillows. View the recipe, below.

Salsa Sensations

You can vote every day until March 3rd.  Please vote as much as you can for my stuffed pillows!! If I win, I get a $1000 Wal-Mart card and with my 2 chihuahuas, that’s a lot of bones and treats!!

These fluffy “pillows” created from crescent rolls are stuffed with turkey sausage, cheese, sour cream and Salsa Sensations Medium Salsa. If you like it spicier, just use the Salsa Sensations Hot Salsa instead.recipe image

Voting is open from 12:01 am on Thursday, Feb. 24 and closes at 11:59 pm on Thursday, March 3.

Spicy Turkey and Cheese Stuffed Pillows

Yields 12 appetizers – Serves 6

Prep time: 25 minutes    Cook time: 23 minutes    Total time: 48 minutes

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 cup diced yellow onion

1 cup diced white button mushrooms

1 (16oz.) package pre-cooked turkey sausage

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 cup sour cream

2 cups Salsa Sensations Medium or Hot Salsa, strained

2 cans crescent rolls

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven at 350°F. Spray a square-hole pan or muffin pan with non-stick butter cooking spray.

In a saucepan on medium-high heat, pour in oil and onion. Stir. Saute for about 3 minutes and then add mushrooms, sausage, salt and pepper. Saute for about 5 minutes until all contents are combined. Set aside.

Open dough; remove dough and unroll only one triangle. Cut about 2 inches off of skinniest point. (Use the trimmings anytime bottom section tears, simply add a little of this leftover dough) Carefully lay dough over one of the holes in the pan. Lightly press so that dough goes down into bottom of cup.

Place about 2 tablespoons of sausage mixture, then a dollop of sour cream and 2 or 3 teaspoons strained salsa into dough square. Sprinkle a few pinches of cheese. Roll up dough to cover tightly; pinching sides while smoothing dough over top. Lightly press. (When baking, dough will rise to create a small dome on top.) Repeat for each triangle of dough.

Bake 15 to 17 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately remove from baking sheet to racks or plates. Serve warm.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vote for My Craving!

  1. Angie Walker says:

    My vote is in, and I will be back every day until March 3. They look delicious!!

  2. Jody Owens Norton says:

    I just voted for you. Plus I had both of my sons to vote for you as well. Good Luck! We’ll vote for you daily.

  3. MICHELE DAY says:

    voting for you hun! good luck!

Leave a Reply

