Adding The Yum to Yummy!


I remember a long time ago finding a candy bar in the cabinet and that sparking an entire conglomeration of ingredients mixed into some wonderful crazy tasting muffins.

Well, that “spark” flew again, but this time with a bunch of very ripe bananas.

ripe bananas with stickers...

Image by Michael W. May via Flickr

So when I went searching for ingredients, I found a box of Krusteaz banana nut muffin mix, some Crisco butter flavored shortening, Karo light corn syrup and chopped pecans. We have a Winner!! Those ingredients, mixed with a few more ingredients equal YUMMY!! Moist (did I say, moist?) Double Banana Pecan Bread

This may not sound like a “different” type of recipe for Banana bread, but hey, it’s good, trust me!! If you like lots of banana flavor and small chunks of banana and pecans, this recipe is for you!!

Perhaps, you have had a similar “spark” before. Simply comment below. Let me know anytime that “spark”occurs!

RECIPE: Double Banana Pecan Bread

Yields: 8 Servings

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 35 minutes

Total time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

17oz. package Krusteaz Banana Nut Muffin Mix

(water, oil and 2 eggs per package instructions. – this recipe used Crisco butter flavored all-vegetable shortening, melted)

4 very ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 teaspoon vanilla flavoring

2 teaspoons Karo light corn syrup

2 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/4 cup chopped pecans

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray an 8×8 2-quart glass square dish with cooking spray with flour or cooking spray and toss around a teaspoon of flour to coat bottom and sides.

Beat eggs in a small bowl or cup. In a medium bowl and with a wooden spoon, mix water, oil, and beaten eggs along with mashed bananas. Add vanilla and corn syrup. Gradually add muffin mix and flour. Don’t over mix. Fold in chopped pecans.

Pour into prepared baking dish. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Remove from oven and cool about 10 minutes. Slice and serve while warm or at room temperature. Once cooled, cover in plastic wrap or aluminum foil or remove from dish and place into plastic resealable bag(s).

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Bananas, Breakfast, Desserts, Eggs, Fruit, Nuts, Pastries/Breads/Muffins, pecans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adding The Yum to Yummy!

  1. I don’t like bananas but love a good banana bread. This one looks great.

  2. Angie Walker says:

    I think I have a box of that in my cupboard. I now know what I will do with it. Thanks Ang.

  3. Pingback: MMM, MMM, Muffins! | Alternative Tastes

Leave a Reply

