Simple with a Sweet and Tangy Side


I decided to create another dish to enter into the North Carolina Sweet Potatoes 2011 Sweet n’ Healthy Blogger Recipe Contest. SP_Contest_logo

Today is the deadline and you know me, wait ’til the last minute.

I’m hoping to wow the judges by using a baked sweet potato

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Image by su-lin via Flickr

and balsamic vinegar

A bottle of balsamic vinegar

Image by bonzevoyage via Flickr

mixed with other ingredients puree’d into a vinaigrette dressing. To be drizzled over a spinach and strawberry salad (pictured above).

I entered this salad with it’s sweet and tangy dressing into the Sugar-Free Category. With the natural sweetness of the sweet potato and the molasses mixed with the tang of the balsamic vinegar, it’s a winner in my book. When it’s warmed, prior to serving, it adds more flavor to the rich spinach. The strawberries and almonds adds such a nice addition of texture. This is far from being a bland salad. Kick it up a notch and add a few sprigs of mint leaves or chopped cilantro. Enjoy! For more recipes using sweet potatoes, visit the North Carolina Sweet Potato Commission’s website.

Strawberry and Almond Salad with Sweet Potato-Molasses Vinaigrette

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 1 minute

Total time: 21 minutes

Yield: Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

1 small sweet potato, baked

3 teaspoons molasses

3 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoon lemon juice

2 teaspoons minced fresh parsley

1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

1/2 cup olive oil, divided

6 cups baby spinach, rinsed and dried

3 cups sliced strawberries

4 green onions, thinly sliced

1/2 cup whole or sliced almonds

Instructions:

Slice open baked sweet potato and spoon into food processor. Add molasses, vinegar, lemon juice, parsley and pepper. Pulse to puree. While processor is on, slowly add olive oil into chute. Run for at least 5 seconds until all combined. Pour into a microwave-safe bowl or cup. If dressing is not liquid enough, add more olive oil and vinegar. Taste. If needed, add more molasses for sweetness. (Dressing should be sweet and tangy). Set aside.

Divide spinach among 6 serving plates; top with strawberry and onion slices and almonds. Place bowl or cup of vinaigrette into microwave and heat for 1 minute to 1 1/2 minutes. Drizzle with warm vinaigrette or pour vinaigrette into dressing cups to be served on side of salad. Serve while dressing is warm or at room temperature.

NOTE: Dressing can be made up to one hour prior to serving.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in almonds, Appetizers, Contest, Fruit, Nuts, salad, Sauces, Side Dish, strawberries, Sweet Potatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple with a Sweet and Tangy Side

  1. Pingback: Deal Grater » Olive Oils, Vinegars, and Seasonings Galore

Leave a Reply

