Loaded Entree’


One evening last week, we were wondering what to fix and meatloaf came to mind. I haven’t made meatloaf in quite a while. I guess it’s because I would get on a “kick” for meatloaf and make about 20 in a month. Yep, I went Meatloaf CRAZY!!

For this one, I noticed lots of mushrooms that needed to be eaten before going bad and other ingredients that needed my attention. So, I created a Loaded Meatloaf. Loaded with mushrooms, green bell pepper, shallots and some of the jarred roasted red bell pepper that I thoroughly enjoy.  This is such an easy meatloaf recipe that if your family doesn’t like mushrooms, you can taste them, but the flavor really is not overpowering and since I microwave prior to incorporating them into the meatloaf prior to baking, so they aren’t as pronounced once baked as you may think. Either way, you can try this or sub out the mushrooms for something else you like, such as canned tomatoes that are strained and/or cheese, etc. Also, remember that I didn’t include bread crumbs or oatmeal to create more meatloaf. For your family, you may want to do this. I’ve also seen where cooked rice added also helps add more to the meatloaf. The recipe is below. Enjoy!

Loaded Mushroom and Pepper Meatloaf 

Yields: 4 servings

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 50 minutes

Total time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef

1 large egg, beaten

1/2 green bell pepper, seeded and sliced into 1/2” pieces

1 shallot, peeled and chopped

1 Tablespoon jarred roasted red bell pepper, chopped

4 or 5 white button mushrooms, rinsed well and chopped

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

2 teaspoons black pepper

1/2 cup ketchup, divided

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray a glass loaf baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.

In a small microwave-safe bowl place bell pepper, shallot and mushrooms. Place into microwave for 3 minutes. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix all ingredients (less 1/4 cup ketchup), including microwaved vegetables; with hands to combine. Mold into a loaf. Place into prepared baking dish. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and spread remaining ketchup over top. Replace into oven and turn oven down to 350 degrees. Bake for another 20 – 25 minutes. Drain excess fat.

Slice and serve warm.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Beef, Hamburger, Meatloaf, Meats, Mushrooms, Sauces, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loaded Entree’

  1. Angie Walker says:

    I love meatloaf, and I would have accepted your 20 times a month with no complaints. It can be made so many different ways, and cook can be so creative with meatloaf.

Leave a Reply

