I’m B A C K!! And Back with RWOP: Season 2


I’m not sure how many were missing me, but I’ve been ill with these dreadful allergies and then turned into sinus infection then that turned into laryngitis! Some people probably didn’t mind me not being able to talk….but I didn’t like it at ALL!!

Okay, and wouldn’t ya know it, when I first became sick, the Real Women of Philadelphia (Kraft Philadelphia Cream Cheese/Cooking Creme) Season 2 – Phase 1 (Video/Hosting) Contest started and I didn’t have enough energy to even think about coming up with a recipe, not to mention a video!! And, without a voice, it was going to be pretty tough to do my video and there wasnt’ anything in the rules that I could use an interpreter!!?

So, I waited until I had both energy and voice and I did 2 recipe videos – for Dessert week using Philly Cream Cheese.  So, here are the videos I completed AND their recipes.

Let me start off by stating that I LOVE the Cupcake Wars program and got a great idea from there about doing a cookie topping on a cupcake/muffin. I came up with Oatmeal Cookie-Topped Sweet Potato Muffins with Creamy Caramel Frosting. There is Philadelphia cream cheese in both the muffin AND the frosting. A double dose!

And the 2nd recipe, I thought of a strawberry upside-down cake but it would take too long and there is a 1 hour total time limit. So,  I created Strawberry-Pecan Upside Down Mini Cakes using 6oz. ramekins. Individual little cakes are wonderful and so very good for any occasion.

The recipes follow the videos. Enjoy!

The contest is continuing, so I’ll be doing more videos. This week is Appetizer week, so I’ve got some ideas!

Oatmeal Cookie-Topped Sweet Potato Muffins with Creamy Caramel Frosting

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Strawberry-Pecan Upside Down Mini Cakes

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Oatmeal Cookie-Topped Sweet Potato Muffins with Creamy Caramel Frosting


Yields: 18 – 24 cupcakes

Prep time: 25 minutes (includes 5 mins. cooling time)

Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

Topping:

2/3 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup quick-cooking oats

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

Cake:

4 oz. Philadelphia cream cheese, at room temperature

1 box spiced cake mix

1 individual package apple cider instant drink mix

1 cup canned yams/sweet potatoes in syrup, mashed and strings removed

2 eggs, beaten

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup water


Frosting:

1/2 cup Philadelphia whipped cream cheese

4 oz. packaged caramel dip

18-24 cupcake liners Instructions:

Heat oven to350°F. Line 2 12-cup muffin pans with cupcake liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk mix together all topping ingredients. The consistency will be thick and crumbly. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat cream cheese and next 6 ingredients with a hand mixer until smooth.

Fill lined cups 1/2 full with cake batter. Bake for 10-15 minutes. (Muffins will not be totally finished cooking.)

Scoop tablespoons topping mixture on top of muffins, dividing among filled cups. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until cookie dough on top is golden brown. Cool cupcakes on wire racks, at least 5 minutes.

While muffins bake, create frosting. In a medium mixing bowl, mix remaining cream cheese with dip until thoroughly combined or spread evenly on top of muffins. Store in refrigerator.

Serving Alternative: Place mixture into a pastry bag or plastic bag with end cut off and swirl on top of cooled muffins (optional). If piping on top of muffins, triple frosting recipe. 

Strawberry-Pecan Upside Down Mini Cakes

Yields: 4 Servings

 Prep time: 25 minutes (includes 5 minutes cooling time)

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total time: 45 minutes

 Ingredients:

Crust:

3 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, divided

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

4-6 strawberries, washed, hulled, halved and sliced
1/4 cup chopped pecans

Filling:

2 eggs, beaten

1/3 cup sugar

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

1/3 cup milk

4 oz. Philadelphia cream cheese, at room temperature

2/3 cup self-rising flour

 Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350° F.

 Divide 2 tablespoons of the butter between 4 (6-ounce) ramekins. Melt the remaining tablespoon of butter and set aside. Evenly divide the brown sugar between the ramekins; sprinkling it into the bottoms of the dishes. Lay the strawberries on top of the sugar; evenly dividing them between the dishes and sprinkle with the pecans. Set aside.

 In a large bowl whisk together eggs, sugars, cinnamon, extracts and milkand remaining melted butter. Mix in cream cheese. Gradually add the flour and stir just until combined. Pour the batter over the strawberries; dividing the mixture evenly between the dishes. Place dishes on the middle rack of the oven and bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until the cake is a golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into center.

 Remove from the oven to a rack and allow to cool for 5 to 10 minutes. Run a knife around the edge of each dish and turn upside down onto a serving plate. Repeat for each cake. Serve warm or at room temperature. Store covered in refrigerator.


About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Contest, Cookies, cream cheese, Fruit, Nuts, Pastries/Breads/Muffins, pecans, Snacks, strawberries, Sweet Potatoes, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m B A C K!! And Back with RWOP: Season 2

  1. Angie Walker says:

    Everything looks scrumptious….I’m glad you are feeling better.
    I thought I’d let you know, I just got around to trying the Philly cooking creme yesterday. Do you think I’m a little behind? I made Santa Fe Chicken.

Leave a Reply

