East Meets South Tacos


I used Sauce Mama’s Pacific Rim Ginger Dressing in this tasty taco. I have created a lot of chicken dishes before with ground ginger or fresh ginger, but this was so flavorful that I really think that this dressing added so much to the marinade that I should have spread over the taco before I ate it as well…..just couldn’t get enough of that great flavor!! So yummy and you can expect some rich, bold flavor with some tones of ginger that keeps you wanting more! I also created an easy recipe with not too many ingredients. Enjoy!

Ginger Chicken Tacos with Cucumber Salsa

Yield: 4 servings

Prep time: 2 hours 15 minutes (includes 2 hours marinade time)

Cook time: 6 minutes

total time: 2 hours 21 minutes

Ingredients:

4-6 boneless, skinless, thin chicken breasts

4 Tablespoons olive oil, divided

1/4 cup Saucy Mama Pacific Rim Ginger Dressing

2 teaspoons minced garlic

2 teaspoons pepper

1 cucumber, halved then halved length-wise, seeded and chopped

3 Roma or plum tomatoes, halved and chopped

2 teaspoons orange zest

salt and pepper to taste

4 flour or whole wheat tortillas

2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese (optional)

1/2 cup sour cream (optional)

Instructions:

Cut chicken breasts into 1 1/2 or 2-inch slices. Place the chicken into a large, resealable plastic refrigerator bag and pour in 2 tablespoons oil, dressing, add garlic and pepper. Press the air out of the bag and seal tightly. Turn the bag to distribute the marinade, place the bag in a bowl, and refrigerate for 2 to 4 hours.

Prepare salsa. Add cucumber, tomatoes and orange zest to a small bowl. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste. Toss. Set aside.

In a skillet on medium-high heat, add 1 tablespoon olive oil. Once oil is hot, place chicken pieces inside skillet (discard marinade). Saute chicken 3 to 4 minutes on each side until no longer pink and juices run clear.

Warm the tortillas in microwave about 15 seconds each. Plate a tortilla. Add warm chicken and spoonfuls of salsa inside tortilla. Sprinkle with cheese (optional) and add dollops of sour cream (optional). Repeat with remaining ingredients. Serve immediately.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Chicken, Cucumbers/Pickles, Meats, Monterey Jack, Poultry, Sauces, Spanish/Mexican Cuisine, Tacos, Tomatoes, Tortilla, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to East Meets South Tacos

  1. Angie Walker says:

    All the flavors I love in one dish….this looks amazing!! Another great one Angela…

  2. Pingback: Sour Cream Chicken Breasts | DELICIOUS RECIPES

Leave a Reply

