All The Rage: Gourmet Hotdogs!


With the competition “heating up” at the RWOP (RealWomenofPhiladelphia.com) (Kraft) Video Hosting Contest, I had to “bump it up a notch” and enter an Entree worthy of Philadelphia cream cheese. I think I did it! 

I got the idea from this month’s Food Network Magazine. The magazine articled hotdogs and even entitled the edition “Hot Dog! The Grilling Issue”  with hotdogs on the cover. Not your normal everyday, mustard, ketchup-topped hotdogs either.  These turn heads and create some OOOHHHS and AAAHHHS!

So, I decided to create some “gourmet” hotdogs myself with a tangy, sweet pepper sauce by using red bell pepper and other ingredients. Blending them along with the creaminess of Philadelphia cream cheese.

I created Big Kid’s Hot Dogs with Creamy Sweet Pepper Sauce. 

I WILL be making this again!! What a treat!  Using Oscar Mayer wieners and Oscar Mayer turkey bacon along with French’s French Fried Onions.

 The Toppings that were used went very well together. The avocado, cucumber and tomatoes. I wouldn’t change a thing the next time I make this recipe. I entered the video and the recipe into the RWOP contest. Enjoy! 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Big Kid’s Hot Dogs with CreamyTomato-Pepper Sauce

Serves: 4

 Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 0 minutes

Total time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

8 Oscar Mayer hot dogs, cooked

8 hot dog buns

Sauce:

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, divided

2 shallots, diced

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1/4 cup red bell pepper, chopped

1/4 cup canned diced tomatoes, drained

6oz. Philadelphia cream cheese, at room temperature

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

3 Tablespoons peach or apricot preserves

2 Tablespoons packed brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

dash cayenne pepper

Toppings:

1 medium cucumber, peeled, seeded and chopped

1 or 2 avocados, halved, pit removed and chopped

3 roma tomatoes, halved and sliced lengthwise

1/4 cup chopped french fried onions

6 to 8 strips Oscar Mayer Turkey Bacon, cooked, chopped

 Instructions:

In a food processor, place bell pepper and pulse until finely chopped. Drain. Add the remaining sauce ingredients to the food processor and pulse until combined. Taste. If sauce is too sour, add preserves by 1/4 teaspoonfuls until desired flavor. Sauce should be tangy and sweet.

Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Saute garlic, and shallots for 1 minute. Add next 7 ingredients and cook for 30 to 45 minutes or until mixture has thickened; stir occasionally. Remove from heat and cool. Spoon into dressing cups or other single serving decorative serving cups.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Contest, cream cheese, Fruit, Peaches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All The Rage: Gourmet Hotdogs!

  1. Pingback: Tomato Catsup » All The Rage: Gourmet Hotdogs! | Alternative Tastes

  2. lindylegends says:

    New stalker from Super Stalker Sunday! 😛 Would love it if you’d swing by my blog when you get a chance! 🙂

  3. Shana says:

    That looks good! Hi! Just stopping by. Following you from the Super Stalker Sunday Hop. Would love it if you would visit and ‘like’ my page: http://www.facebook.com/flightlessgoose.

  4. Angie Walker says:

    You never fail…another great recipe!! I just read that Food Network magazine too.

Leave a Reply

