Cookies from Cake


I was trying to be a little adventurous and find something to create with a box of cake mix I had on hand. So, I  created cookies from the cake mix. I used the wikihow.com article How to Make Cake Mix Cookies:7 Steps.

This was so EASY, that I would say, let the kids help stir that mix and plop these on to the pan and watch them bulk up. You can sub out the pecans for walnuts or almonds. Also, you can add semi-sweet chocolate chips (which I will try next time).

YUMMO!!!  Good luck and please let me know if you created these and included any of your own ingredients!  Enjoy!

Cake Mix Cookies

Ingredients:

1 (18.25 oz.) box of chocolate fudge cake mix (I used Betty Crocker’s Super Moist cake mix)  

1 egg (If you add any more eggs, these will be more cake-like that’s why there’s only 1 egg included)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 to 3 Tablespoons water (the article I used didn’t show any water, but boy, I couldn’t have mixed this without it!!)

3/4 cup pecans

1 tsp. vanilla (optional, if not using chocolate mix)

12 oz. chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Prepare cookie sheets by spraying with non-stick spray or lining with baking paper.

Combine cake mix, egg, and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil and water in a large bowl. If you used an unflavored cake mix like yellow or white then add 1 tsp. of vanilla. Mix thoroughly with a large spoon.

Mix in nuts.

Spoon teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto cookie sheets, about a dozen cookies per sheet. They will spread when baking, so leave some room between each cookie.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes.  

Allow the cookies to cool on the sheet for about 2 minutes before removing them to a wire rack.

Let cool and then take off cookie sheet using a spatula. Place onto a wire rack to cool completely.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, Nuts, pecans, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cookies from Cake

  1. Farida says:

    Great site and wonderful pics, thanks for share.

    farida
    http://kitchensuperfood.com

  2. Angie Walker says:

    Cake mix cookies are the best. They are so soft and chewy….

  3. kortneyfaith says:

    Hi Angela! Thanks so much for linking up to the Super Stalker Sunday hop! Be sure to come join us again this weekend!

    I’m so glad I found your blog! All of these recipes look soo good! My mom had some of these cake mix cookies awhile back and she has been trying to find a recipe for them…well I think I’ve found her one she is going to love! Thanks for sharing!

    Have a great rest of the week!
    Kortney
    http://www.kortneyskrazylife.com

Leave a Reply

