Brunch Quiche Appetizers


I made some quiche appetizers last year and since they did so well, I tweaked the recipe and incorporated Lindsay® Olives. I’m submitting this scrumptious recipe (below), Olive, Pepper and Sun-Dried Tomato Brunch Quiches  in the Lindsay® Olives “Love This Recipe” Contest.

These quiche appetizers would be great for a brunch or nice summer get-together.  I again, used my square-hole pan and thoroughly love how easy it was to create these. I also increased the puffed pastry for the crust as well as added Dijon mustard, minced garlic and fresh basil. These would be great served with a nice light salsa or even a cool soup on the side. Enjoy!

For more olive recipes, check out the recipes on the Lindsay Olives website.

Olive, Pepper and Sun-Dried Tomato Brunch Quiches 

Yields: 12 Appetizers

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 34 minutes

Total time: 1 hour 4 minutes

Ingredients:

5 to 10 sheets frozen puff pastry dough, thawed

1 small yellow onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup sliced Lindsay® Black Ripe Olives, finely chopped

1/2 medium orange and yellow bell peppers, seeded and finely chopped

4 large eggs, beaten

3/4 cup cream cheese, at room temperature

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

3 fresh basil leaves, finely chopped

3/4 cup half-n-half or heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, drained and diced

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven at 350°F. Spray a 12 square-hole baking pan or 12-hole muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray to cover sides and bottom of each section. Set aside.

Unroll sheets of puff pastry dough and place stacked dough on clean surface. With a knife or pastry cutter, cut dough to fit into bottom only of each hole of baking pan (square if using square-hole pan, circle if using a muffin pan). Place dough into bottom of each section of baking pan.

Place onion, olives and bell peppers in a microwave-safe dish and cook in microwave for 3 minutes. Stir. Cook for 1 additional minute. Drain.

Create quiche by whisking eggs, cream cheese, mustard, garlic, basil, half-n-half, tomatoes, salt and pepper. Pour into each section of baking pan; filling each half-way. Sprinkle each section with about 1/2 teaspoon of microwaved vegetables and shredded cheese. Stir lightly. Place pan in oven and cook for about 30-35 minutes. Cool in pan for 5 minutes.

Place appetizers on plates or serving platter. Serve warm.

NOTE: Appetizers can be frozen up to 2 months.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, cheddar, Cheese, Contest, Eggs, Mozzarella, olives, Tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

