Had to Enter!!


Well, I couldn’t pass up entering my FAVE recipe/cooking contest!! I had to enter at least one recipe in this year’s recipe contest with the RealWomenofPhiladelphia.com. After winning in last year’s competition,  I truly entered just to add this to MY RECIPE PAGE  on  RealWomenofPhiladelphia.com. Mainly because there are so many great recipes already entered!! You will have to check those out!!)

The rules stated for this particular entry to have only 5 ingredients including the Philadelphia Cooking Creme and to be prepared and cooked in a total of 30 minutes. So, I re-wrote a more complex recipe I already had on hand to create a very simple recipe. I chose to include my Italian Prosciutto-Wrapped Fish Tostadas

The recipe follows and these are the steps:

Spread Philadelphia Cooking Creme on to fish fillets.

Wrap fillets with slice(s) of prosciutto and bake.

Spread remaining Cooking Creme on tostada shells then place handfuls of salad mix on tostadas.

Place baked prosciutto-wrapped fillets on top. 

Italian Prosciutto-Wrapped Fish Tostadas

This Italian-spin on a Mexican dish offers lots of herb and cheese flavor using the Philadelphia Italian Cheese and Herb Cooking creme. The prosciutto-wrapped fish complements the dish to create an elegant feeling to a very simple recipe. This is great for entertaining as well as for dinner at home. Guests will feel they are dining at a fine restaurant when served this pleasant and flavorful dish. Make this your own dish by adding different chopped vegetables (ie., tomatoes, green peppers, etc.), shaved cheese and parsley or cilantro.

INGREDIENTS:

16 ounces (in 4 fillets) fresh cod, tilapia, flounder, or catfish fillets

4 to 8 thin slices prosciutto ham

10oz. tub Philadelphia Italian Cheese and Herb Cooking Creme

8 6-inch corn tostada shells

12 or 14oz. package baby spinach and baby lettuce salad mix

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.

Cut fish to create 8 small fillets. Rub fillets with 2 teaspoons or more cooking crème. Wrap each fillet with a slice or two of prosciutto, leaving ends of fillets unwrapped. Bake fish until firm and white at unwrapped ends, about 15 to 20 minutes (may take longer to bake if fillets are thick). Keep warm until time to serve.

Heat remaining cooking creme in small bowl in microwave for about 30 to 40 seconds, until warmed.

Prepare a large plate with 2 corn tostada shells. Spread remaining cooking creme on each tostada shell, dividing equally among shells. Then layer each shell with a handful of salad mix. Top each with a prosciutto-wrapped fish fillet. Repeat with remaining ingredients to create 3 more plates. Serve. Yields 8 tostadas (4 servings).

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese, cream cheese, Fish, Italian Cuisine, Salad, Seafood, Spanish/Mexican Cuisine, Tilapia, Tortilla, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Had to Enter!!

  1. Angie Walker says:

    Totally AMAZING!! The dishes that you put together just make my taste buds long to eat them.

  2. Pingback: Cooking Terms Dictionary | We Dip It Cooking

Leave a Reply

