I Can Make it Anywhere!!


I’m back from my trip to New York City! Wow, it was Fantastic! Just as a reminder, this trip was the one that I had won the end of last year (the Jimmy Dean Crumbles Recipe Contest – The Crumble Rumble)

The Hotel they put my friend Brenda and I up was great (The Novotel) and the view of Time Square was tremendous!! 

We found our way around just fine without too many major malfunctions!! And the food, well, that goes without saying!! Wonderful!! We first took in lunch at Columbus Circle at the Whole Foods Market. We headed to Central Park and walked until our “dogs” started “barking”. Later that evening, we enjoyed a great dinner at Delmonico’s Steak House (Grill and Bar side) in lower Manhattan, in the Financial District.  I had the Chicken Milanase Sandwich with Mozzarella, Roasted peppers, Baby Arugula, Herb Mayo on Ciabata. Brenda ate a nice tall burger with bacon and melted cheddar. You could have heard a pin drop with us eating….with such good flavors, who could talk?!!

THE BIG DAY!! The next morning, on Tuesday, 9/20 we ate bagels and danishes at a little coffee shop just before going in to the Rachael Ray Show. The Rachael Ray
Show – Wow Such a great time there. Rachael Ray is such a petite thing! And pretty too! I actually had the chance to ask a question at the start of the show when she talks to the audience. I asked her how does she come up with her recipes? What inspires her? Well, she has so many different avenues from the Food Network, her show, her magazine, her books, etc. that she jots down recipe ideas and once they come to fruition she puts them on cards along with categories (i.e., kids love it, comfort foods, etc.) and then refers back to them.

During the Show, she created her burger and potatoes (Garlic-Sherry Burgers with Stilton & Pub Browns with Horseradish Sauce) that is in the October edition (page 102)of EveryDay with Rachael Ray. The Guest was Poppy Montgomery, and boy is she pretty!! Red hair suits her!! I’m not sure when this taping will be shown, but hopefully soon. I’d love to see it on TV!! The only negative was the cameras close in while Rach was cooking, so I got to watch the view from the cameras themselves…which wasn’t that bad…it was being in the moment that was so terrific!! We were seated only 2 rows back!!

Okay, so after a lot of walking after the show and touring and shopping, we stumbled upon Grand Central Station. So, we cruised down to the Dining Concourse to see what we could grab on the fly. Wow, such an assortment of dining pleasures!! From Chinese to Italian to Deli creations. We settled for cheap!! A hot dog with sauerkraut and mustard!! AND room for dessert – Red Velvet Cupcake with homemade whipped cream from Magnolia Bakery and a Bavarian Chocolate Gelato!! YUMMO!

After walking through Time Square and shopping, we managed to get a table at a side-street Bistro. Very nice choice. The Saju Bistro Bar Restaurant is a diamond in the rough, so to speak. Such a very nice restaurant to be so close to Time Square with it’s array of restaurants like Applebees, Hard Rock Cafe, etc. and the $5 t-shirt stores. I had the Rigatoni á la saucisse de campagne (Rigatoni pasta with Italian sausage, broccoli rabe, extra virgin oil touch of garlic)

(Sorry the photo is not that great, low lighting and bad cameraphone…)

Brenda had the Buccatini á la carbonara (Thick spaghetti, rendered procuitto, sweet peas, in a cream Parmesan sauce). Both items were very good and very rich!! Very, very rich!!

The next day, our last day for our visit, was spent touring and shopping. We went on the long, but speedy, subway ride to the lower tip of Manhattan to the Whitehall terminal and boarded the Staten Island Ferry. We grabbed a quick bagel and coffee. Great time for the lack of crowd being so early in the morning. However, we also faced a little bit of a fog. 

We ended our culinary trip by eating at a local cafe at the South Street Seaport Shops and Pier. With a chicken wrap and tuna wrap in our bellies, we walked back to the subway and returned to Time Square to pick up our bags and head back to Raleigh-Durham. Wow. What a quick vacation and culinary jaunt. I wouldn’t change a thing. Except to add a foot massage sometime during the trip!! LOL

And, as the song goes, “If I can make it there, I can make it anywhere!”  So a toast, to a great adventure and so glad that my friend Brenda could experience the trip too.

Now… on to review more recipe contests, so I don’t miss the chance to possibly win another experience of a lifetime!!

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, artichokes, avocados, Beef, Breakfast, casserole, Cheese, Clams, Cookies, Crab, Fish, Fruit, Italian Cuisine, Meatballs, Meatloaf, Mushrooms, Pastries/Breads/Muffins, Pork, Roast, Salad, salad, Sandwiches, Sauces, Seafood, Side Dish, Smoothies, Steak, Tomatoes, Uncategorized, Vegetables, Yogurt, Zucchini and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

