I’m a Winner – A SWEET Reward!!


When I read in September that Dixie Crystals Sugar 

/Imperial Sugar was holding the “Most Valuable Tailgate Recipe Contest”and the Winner would take home 2012 Sugar Bowl tickets, I immediately had to put on my thinking cap. My favorite college team’s cap, that is. I love college football and I knew that I needed to come up with a recipe that was unique and easy for tailgating.

I searched for some ideas and designed a recipe that, now, is a Winning Recipe! Yep, I won the 2 tickets to the Sugar Bowl with my recipe: Cookie-Topped Fruit-Stuffed Acorn Squash (recipe below).

Now, you can enter the Dixie Crystals Holiday Cookie Decorating contest http://www.dixiecrystalssugar.com/sweet-community/contests

Also, check out Dixie Crystals’ Holiday Survival Guide http://www.dixiecrystalssugar.com/sweet-community/survivalguide

Cookie-Topped Fruit-Stuffed Acorn Squash

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 56 minutes

Total time: 1 hour 16 minutes

Serves 8

Ingredients:

4 medium acorn squash (1-1/4 to 1-1/2 pounds each) (see tip below)

1 1/2 cups seedless oranges, peeled, white pith removed and chopped

1 1/4 cups whole berry cranberry sauce

6 tablespoons margarine or butter, melted

1/4 cup Dixie Crystals® light brown sugar

1 tablespoon Dixie Crystals® dark brown sugar

3 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided (2 tsp. for topping)

1/2 teaspoon salt

Topping:

2/3 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup quick-cooking oats

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup packed Dixie Crystals® light brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray 1 or 2 baking sheets with nonstick cooking spray.

Pierce squash generously with a fork, and arrange squash onto paper towels in microwave. Microwave on high power 6 to 7 minutes, or until slightly tender. Cut in half, and remove seeds.

In a large bowl, combine orange pieces, cranberry sauce, butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt; mix well. Spoon evenly into squash halves, place onto baking sheet(s), and bake, uncovered, for 40 to 45 minutes.

Remove baking sheet(s) from oven. Scoop tablespoons of topping mixture equally on top of squash halves. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until topping is golden brown. Squash should be tender.

Tip: To keep squash halves upright as they bake, cut a narrow slice off the bottom of each half before stuffing.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in casserole, Contest, Cookies, Side Dish, Squash, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m a Winner – A SWEET Reward!!

  1. Angie Walker says:

    Congratulations to you!! You are always coming up with unique ways for food. Enjoy those tickets!!

Leave a Reply

