Italiano Carne Scura di Pollo al Forno


I believe that when dating an Italian making certain the Italian dishes one creates for that special someone are FANTASTIC!! Not mediocre. (I would think that the mother of said date probably created some awesome dishes in her time and her offspring is used to the awesomeness.) So, with that in mind. I was inspired by a dish to make my “Mr. Special” from a very well-informed site. KraftRecipes.com .

I also had more dark meat chicken on hand. So there ya go.  Another dark meat chicken dish and this was by far, the best of the three dishes I’ve made in this blog series.

I knew that I had something going when we were sitting down to dinner and I was critiquing the dish, as I always do with my cooking, and I couldn’t find anything that this recipe needed! It was, dare I say, Perfect! (I’m a perfectionist, so there is a HUGE amount of dishes that never see this blog due to my own criticism).

This recipe may seem lengthy, but it is a very EASY dish. Most of us know EASY is a word that we thoroughly enjoy when it comes to a dinner meal.

Italiano Carne Scura di Pollo al Forno translated, means Italian Baked Dark Meat Chicken. That’s the short version of what I titled my recipe. The recipe is below and if you create it OR have created something like it, let me know. I’m sure there are variations of this dish that I could do, but the dish as is, is absolutely juicy and flavorful.

Oh, how did the Italian “Mr. Special” like the dish? He wanted seconds…. Enjoy!

Baked Tomato and Parmesan Dark Meat Chicken with Mushroom Sauce and Whole Wheat Pasta

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 50 minutes

Total time: 1 hour

Serves 2

Ingredients:

Chicken:

2 to 4 skinless chicken parts (recipe used 2 thigh and leg quarters)

1- 28 ounce can diced tomatoes (divided)

1/4 cup Ken’s Steakhouse Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing

1 teaspoon garlic powder (divided)

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Sauce:

1 teaspoon EVOO

½ small sweet onion, diced

1/2 carton mushrooms

1/2 jar organic pasta sauce

1/2 lb. whole wheat spaghetti noodles

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 425ºF. Spray 13×9-inch baking dish with cooking spray. Place chicken inside dish.

Mix tomatoes, dressing and garlic powder. Pour over chicken. Sprinkle with cheese.

Bake chicken (internal temp. 165ºF) 50 minutes or until when cut juices run clear.

Create sauce while chicken bakes. Heat oil in small stock pot on medium-high heat; add onion and sauté for 3 or 4 minutes. Add mushrooms, pasta sauce, remaining diced tomatoes and garlic powder. Turn heat down to medium-low and cover; stir occasionally for at least 20 minutes. Turn off burner and let sit covered.

Cook noodles per directions on box (until al dente). Drain.

Remove chicken from oven. Let chicken sit for 3 or 4 minutes. Plate chicken with mounds of pasta and sauce on the side. Serve warm.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Chicken, Meats, Mushrooms, Poultry, Sauces, Tomatoes, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italiano Carne Scura di Pollo al Forno

  1. Senka says:

    Hi,

    We’ve recently launched the site RecipesUS.com where users can search through hundreds of thousands of recipes from American food sites and blogs.

    We noticed that you have a lot of delicious recipes on your blog and we would like to suggest you have a look at our Top Food Blogs section here: http://www.recipesus.com/top-food-blogs

    If you want to add your food blog to the list and have your recipes indexed on RecipesUS.com, all you have to do is follow these instructions: http://www.recipesus.com/add-your-food-blog

    Our concept is already live in Sweden, France, the UK and Spain, and we deliver thousands of visitors to food blogs daily. Some of the top food blogs receive 20,000+ visitors from us on a weekly basis.

    Hopefully your food blog will be up there in the top!

    Kind regards,
    Senka
    RecipesUS.com, Hittarecept.se, Alldishes.co.uk, Todareceta.es, Touteslesrecettes.fr

Leave a Reply

