What’s Gobble Gobble in Spanish? Turkey Tacos!!


I don’t speak Spanish, but I sure speak “Taco!”

I took some browned, lean ground turkey and mixed that with sauteed onions, bell pepper and a packet of low-sodium taco mix. An easy way to get all of those nice spices included in the dish.

I also used some Dei Fratelli products. So, in doing so, I thought…I’ll enter this in their Ripened recipe contest this year. I was a winner in 2009 and 2010. Hope to be a winner this year too!! I thoroughly enjoyed receiving products each month. Thinking up new recipes as well as incorporating their products into my old recipes.

And now that I have a new kitchen to cook in, I’m exstatic!! (pics are coming soon)

 “Mr. Special” always likes for me to get excited about cooking!! Plus, he likes eating healthy. This recipe ended up being gluten-free since I used whole grain corn taco shells.

After a few bites, I knew this was a great recipe to enter into the Dei Fratelli Ripened Recipe Contest 2012. Hope your family enjoys as much as we did!

Crowd Pleasing SpiceyTurkey Tacos (Gluten-Free)

Serves 4

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 16 minutes

Total time: 31 minutes

 Ingredients:

1 pound lean ground turkey

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 cup diced onion

1/3 cup diced red bell pepper

1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

3Tablespoons Dei Fratelli Tomato Puree

1 packet gluten-free, low-sodium taco seasoning mix, mild

water (per seasoning packet instructions)

8 whole grain, gluten-free corn taco shells

2 chopped Roma tomatoes

1 ½ cups chopped romaine lettuce

½ cup shredded cheddar or Mexican cheese

½ cup Dei Fratelli Original Salsa, Medium

½ cup sour cream (optional)

Instructions:

In a large saucepan coated with non-stick cooking spray, brown turkey along with garlic powder and pepper on medium-high heat for 8 to 10 minutes or until turkey is no longer pink. Saute onion, bell pepper and oil on medium heat in a smaller saucepan until vegetables are soft (about 5 minutes). Mix onion, bell pepper, tomato puree, seasoning packet and amount of water (about ¾ cup) as stated on seasoning packet in with turkey; Saute for about 3 minutes, or until thickened.

Heat taco shells in microwave per package instructions. Plate 2 shells with spoonfuls of turkey mixture and tomatoes layered along with some of the lettuce and a spoonful or more of cheese, salsa and sour cream (if desired). Repeat with remaining taco shells. Serve. Enjoy!

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in cheddar, Cheese, Meats, Monterey Jack, onion, Poultry, Spanish/Mexican Cuisine, Tacos, Turkey, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Gobble Gobble in Spanish? Turkey Tacos!!

  1. TY for sharing my recipe on your blog!!

  2. Pingback: A Wealth of Tomatoes, AGAIN!! | Alternative Tastes

Leave a Reply

