A “flowering” Thanksgiving


I haven’t cooked with cauliflower that much before. Only when a few florets are included along with broccoli and perhaps some carrots in a dish. But not as a main ingredient in a dish. Since “Mr. Special” and I were hosting my mom and my brother’s family for Thanksgiving this year, I wanted to create a couple of dishes that I haven’t fixed before. I also bought a gift for myself. I should say for “Mr. Special” since he’ll be eating what I fix when I use it. I bought a nice slow cooker.  I wanted to create a slow cooked dish as well. So, I guess this Thanksgiving meal was a “flowering” meal since I used cauliflower in 2 new dishes. I have noted the recipes that inspired mine.   Enjoy!

Cauliflower Gratin

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Inspired by recipe at: http://www.purewow.com/festive_recipes.htm#ixzz2CJvybxOz

Makes 6 servings

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 36 minutes

Total time: 56 minutes

Ingredients

1 to 2 heads cauliflower, chopped into florets
6 tablespoons butter, divided
4 tablespoons flour
3 cups low-fat milk
1 cup grated low-fat Vermont sharp white cheddar cheese

1 cup plus 2 teaspoons shredded parmesan cheese, divided

1 teaspoon nutmeg, divided

3 green onions, sliced

sea salt to taste

ground black pepper to taste

½ cup plain bread crumbs
Directions

Preheat oven to 375°F.

In a large pot of salted water, boil and blanch cauliflower until cooked, but still crunchy, about 3 or 4 minutes. Shock in an ice-water bath to stop the cooking. Strain to remove all liquid. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, melt 4 tablespoons butter over medium heat and add flour. Cook, stirring frequently, until the flour is nicely toasted and bubbling, about 3 minutes. Slowly add cold milk, whisking to incorporate. The sauce should not be too thick, add more milk if necessary. Add ½ teaspoon nutmeg and cheddar cheese and 1 cup parmesan cheese and stir until melted and combined. Sprinkle ½ teaspoon nutmeg evenly over dish. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Add cauliflower and green onions to a 3-quart gratin dish. Pour sauce mixture evenly over dish. Melt remaining butter in microwave using a microwave-safe dish. Sprinkle bread crumbs then remaining cheese and melted butter evenly over dish. Place a baking sheet under the baking dish to catch any spills.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until bubbling and nicely browned on top.

This may be made ahead of time, then reheat and serve.

Slow Cooked Green Beans with Cauliflower and Green Onions

Serves 8 to 10

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 2 hours

Total time: 2 hours and 10 minutes

Items: 6-quart slow cooker/crock pot

Ingredients:

4-15oz. cans green beans (including juice)

½ head cauliflower, chopped into florets

4 green onions, sliced

½ medium bell pepper, chopped

1 slice cooked ham, chopped

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder  OR  ¼ teaspoon minced garlic

¼ teaspoon ground cayenne pepper

1½ cups water

Instructions:

Add ingredients to a 6-quart slow cooker. Set appliance on high setting for 2 to 2 1/2 hours OR on low setting for 5 hours; or until cauliflower is cooked through but not mushy.

With slotted spoon, scoop cooked ingredients on to plates or bowls. Serve.

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Beans, casserole, cauliflower, cheddar, Ham, onion, Pork, Sauces, Side Dish, Slow Cooker, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

