Cookies Good Enough for Santa!


Dear Santa,

I have been a very good girl this year. I have made many blog entries and have created some great recipes this year. I’ve also won a few contests as well.

So, if you don’t mind Santa, I really wouldn’t mind a nice shiny stand mixer, preferably a KitchenAid 5-Quart Artisan Stand Mixer in Empire Red. And Santa, since you are so busy and the elves are too. I was thinking that all I need to do is be the first-prize winner in the Epicurious’ Santa’s Plate Cookie Contest . This way, you don’t have to lug that heavy thing all the way to North Carolina. Epicurious and friends can just ship that bad boy to my house where I can create some stupendous creations for you next Christmas!! 

The whoopie pies I created this weekend and entered in the contest are terrific and I think I could win that mixer!! So, Mr. Claus, I will have these out for you Christmas Eve and hope you like them. 

You will be totally plump and happy with these cookies! I think the reindeer will even like the crumbles that are left behind, if there are any. 

I created Red Velvet Whoopie Pies with Peppermint-Buttercream Filling. redvcookies1Santa, I will be sure to include the recipe below for others to try. Mainly, because I’m such a good girl to share these wonderful cookies with everyone! 

Take care Santa and Please, Please, Santa, make sure you take it easy AFTER Christmas. I do worry about you each and every year. Say Hello to the Elves for me!! 

Angela

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies with Peppermint-Buttercream FillingRVwhoopie1

Yields: 25 to 30 sandwich cookies

prep time: 40 minutes

cook time: 10 minutes

total time: 50 minutes

Ingredients:

Cookies:

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

1/4 cup plain or vanilla soy milk

2 Tablespoons red food coloring

1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Filling:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

5 cups confectioner’s sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup plus 2 Tablespoons, or more peppermint or peppermint mocha flavored coffee creamer

1 cup crushed peppermint candies or candy canes (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375ºF.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a separate medium bowl and with an electric hand mixer, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs 1 at a time. Beat in milk, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla. Once combined, add wet ingredients to dry. Mix until thoroughly combined.

Using parchment paper-lined cookie sheets and working in batches, drop batter using an ice cream scoop forming 2-inch round circles.

Bake for 10 minutes, until baked through. Cool slightly then remove to a wire rack. Cool completely.

Create filling. In a large bowl, cream butter until light and fluffy using an electric hand mixer. Beat in confectioner’s sugar, vanilla, and enough creamer to achieve desired consistency.

Assemble pies: When cookies have cooled completely, Spread the filling between 2 cooled cookies and roll the edges in crushed peppermint, if desired. Serve.

Tip: Prepared sandwich cookies can be refrigerated for storage. Cookies, separate from filling can be stored in a plastic resealable bag at room temperature. Filling stored covered in refrigerator

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in cakes, Cheese, Contest, Cookies, cream cheese, Desserts, Pastries/Breads/Muffins, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

