A 5-Star Rated Entree Without Leaving the House


It was a nice Sunday so Mr. Special and I wanted to enjoy the outdoors. Not wanting to be in the kitchen, I decided to use the slow cooker and cook chicken that we had defrosted. What to do with the chicken breast was the next question I asked myself.

So, I “traveled” to the Foodnetwork.com website to view chicken breast recipes and found a very interesting recipe. Bacon and Blue Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts. (Recipe courtesy Claire Robinson.) I had some blue cheese on hand, but I also had some mild Italian chicken sausage as well. So, I created my own recipe AND developed it for the slow cooker (Slow Cooked Italian Sausage and Bleu Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts). We thought after eating the meal, that this was definitely worth 5-stars!!

My slow cooker has a temperature probe (a God-send). If you’re ever looking for a good slow cooker, I definitely love my Hamilton Beach (Model 33969) Set and Forget 6-Quart Slow Cooker

slowcooker1

I have had it for about 3 months and I look forward to cooking with it. The probe helps regulate the temperature of meats during cooking. A very nice innovation, seeing as I’m always wondering if a meat is thoroughly cooked. It’s a “no brainer.”

The helpful product guide it comes with is something I refer to almost all of the time. The recipe I created as well as photos are below. Enjoy!

Slow Cooked Italian Sausage and Bleu Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts

chixstuffedblog10

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 4 – 5 hours

Total time: 4 hours and 10 minutes

Ingredients:

2 links mild Italian flavored chicken sausage, casings removed

1/3 cup blue cheese, crumbled

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 or 3 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

1/2 stick butter, at room temperature

1 Tablespoon lemon pepper (no-salt) seasoning (this recipe used Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper Seasoning)

Instructions:

Spray slow cooker with nonstick cooking spray.

In a small mixing bowl and using (clean) hands, combine sausage, cheese and garlic.


chixstuffedblog2

chixstuffedblog3

chixstuffedblog4

Place chicken breasts on a cutting board. Slice into right side of each creating a pocket. chixstuffedblog5Fill each breast with stuffing mixture.chixstuffedblog6 Place all filled chicken breasts in bottom of slow cooker.chixstuffedblog7

Cut butter into tabs and place over top of chicken breasts. chixstuffedblog8Sprinkle with seasoning.seasoning1

Cook on low for 4 to 5 hours or on high 3 to 4 hours. (If using a probe with slow cooker, stick into a chicken breast and set at 180°F on low or high.)

Cook until chicken is thoroughly cooked through and juices run clear; internal temperature is 180°F.chixstuffedblog9

Serving Suggestion: Serve with white rice/brown rice OR pasta with a cream or lemon sauce.chixstuffedblog10

About amrecipes

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

