Sunday Afternoon Means Cookies


A chilly Sunday afternoon usually means I’m in the kitchen baking a little treat for “Mr. Special” and I. So I opened the cupboards and had some yellow cake mix and a package of peanut butter cookie mix on hand. I was torn. Cake or Cookies? So, I decided to make Cookie Bars using BOTH!!

I was inspired when I went Goggling to find some tasty recipes and found Chrissy Page’s Cake Mix Cookie Bars. chrissyChrissy and I are Food-Blog Buddies and I’ve tried some of her recipes before.  So it was easy to know that the recipe would be delicious. I used her recipe and added and subbed what I had on hand.

The Result? OMG Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars.cookiebar2b

Why do I call them OMG cookie bars? Because that’s what both “Mr. Special” and I exclaimed after taking the first bite of the scrumptious cookie bars warm from the oven. “Oh My Gosh” will be your exclamation as well!! Recipe below, Enjoy!

OMG Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

cookiebar2a

Ingredients (in order of appearance):

17.5 ounce package peanut butter cookie mix

15.25 ounce box yellow cake mix (this recipe used Pillsbury’s Traditional Yellow Cake Mix)

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/4 Tablespoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup or more semi-sweet milk chocolate chips

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Line a 13x9x2 inch baking pan with parchment paper, over lapping parchment on both sides (optional) or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In stand mixer bowl, add first 6 ingredients. With beater attachment, turn on mixer at #2 speed for 30 seconds. Turn mixer up to #4 speed and add eggs one at a time. Continue for 15 seconds. Turn mixer off. Add chocolate chips and turn mixer on #2 speed for 20 seconds or until most of chocolate chips are incorporated into batter.

Dump batter on to prepared baking dish. Spread dough; using (clean) hands or flat spatula. Dough should go all the way to edges of pan.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden and edges are slightly browned. Remove pan from oven and cool for 5 minutes. Using a knife, carefully slice into warm cookie vertical and horizontal creating cookie bars; approximately 2-inches width x 2 1/2-inches length.

Yields about 30 cookie bars

About Angela Milani

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Brownies, cakes, Cookies, Desserts, Eggs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment