Unique Tart Worthy of a Crowd


I created a new dessert for my  Thanksgiving gathering. Since it was such a hit – I entered it in the Imperial Sugar Company’s Homemade Holidays Recipe Contest. Instead of a pumpkin pie – I had cans of yams or sweet potatoes and decided to create a dish with them. I had some old-fashioned molasses cookies on hand and thought they would help very nicely in the crust.  Sometimes, what you may have on hand in your pantry can help a dish become something unique. cookies1a

I recently purchased my first tart pan with removable bottom. I’ve always used a pie plate and just simply added less contents to become  a thin tart. This tart pan made it so much easier. Especially when it came time to cool the tart afterwards.tartpan1

The neat step to this tart is holding some of the cream cheese mixture aside and using dollops of this mixture on the top of the tart and using a knife, creating a unique design; a marbling affect. I had seen this before in a cookbook but have never created a recipe using this technique.creamcheese1

tartpan3tartpan4

You can create your own designs using this technique. I may try this on another tart that I have in mind for the future. This tart is definitely crowd worthy!! Hope your family’s Thanksgiving was a good one!! Enjoy!

Sweet Potato and Cream Cheese Tarttartfinish1

Yields 10 servings

Prep time: 40 minutes
Cook time: 31 minutes
Total time: 1 hour 11 minutes

Ingredients
Crust:
1/3 cup quick-cooking oats, ground
1 cup old fashioned molasses cookie crumbs (about 6 large cookies)
3 Tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Cream Cheese Filling:
2 containers (8 oz each) reduced-fat cream cheese
1/3 cup Imperial Sugar® extra fine granulated pure cane sugar
2 Tablespoons light vanilla-flavored soy milk
1 egg
1 Tablespoon flour
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Sweet Potato Filling:
15 ounce canned yams/sweet potatoes in syrup, drained and mashed
1/3 cup packed Imperial Sugar® brown sugar
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tub low-fat whipped topping, for serving

Instructions

Heat oven to 375°F. Spray 11-inch tart pan with removable bottom with cooking spray. In small bowl, mix crust ingredients. Press in bottom and up side of pan. Bake 6 to 8 minutes or until set; set aside.

In large bowl, beat cream cheese filling ingredients with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth and creamy. Reserve 2/3 cup cream cheese filling; set aside.

In small bowl, mix sweet potato filling ingredients. Add to remaining cream cheese filling; mix well. Spoon into crust. Spoon dollops of reserved cream cheese filling randomly over sweet potato filling. Swirl with knife to marble mixtures. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until set. Cool 10 minutes. Remove side of pan. Serve warm, or cool 1 hour and refrigerate until serving time.

About Angela Milani

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Contest, cream cheese, Desserts, Sweet Potatoes, tarts, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment