My Dish IS Healthy!! AND I’m Invited to the Cook-OFF


YAHOO! I got the word that my recipe was CHOSEN and now I’m INVITED to be one of the finalists in the Atlanta Region of the Aetna Healthy Food Fight. This means going to Atlanta

Taste of Atlanta

next weekend to prepare my recipe in the cook-off with others competing to go to New York City to meet Bobby Flay.

10th Anniversary

The Aetna Healthy Food Fight was a little drama for me, since this year they put it up to voters to be in the mix of scoring!!

Join the Aetna: Healthy Food Fight That’s always a “nail-biter” for me. I always hate to ask someone to vote, especially every day, but some of my fans and family came to my rescue. Also, my  recipe was rated high on the nutrition scale, so that helped a great deal to get me to the cook-off in Atlanta. I’ve included my recipe below and THANKS to my FANS and FAMILY who voted!!!!

Italian Herb Prosciutto-Wrapped Fish Tostadas with Tomato-Pimento Coulis

Servings: 4 (8 tostadas)

Prep time: 45 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total time: 1 hour 5 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

16 ounces (in 4 fillets) tilapia (cod, flounder, or catfish)

2 garlic cloves, lightly crushed and minced

4 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves

8 basil leaves

juice and zest of 1 lemon

4 to 8 thin slices prosciutto

3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, divided

1/2 pint (8 ounces) (about 20 to 25) cherry tomatoes, halved

2 medium shallots, unpeeled

2 medium zucchini

8 6-inch natural oven baked corn tostadas shells (large corn tortillas can be substituted to be baked)

1 bunch escarole or endive lettuce, ends removed, washed and chopped

1/4 cup low-sodium all natural grated or shredded Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

non-stick cooking spray

COULIS:

1 14 ounce can no salt added, diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings, drained

1/4 cup jarred, diced pimentos

1 Tablespoon red wine vinegar

1/2 Tablespoon low sugar apricot preserves, marmalade or jam

1 chopped green onion (tops only)

1 teaspoon fresh basil, chopped

1/2 teaspoon fresh mint, chopped

dash salt substitute

dash freshly ground black pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Line 2 baking sheets with aluminum foil and spray with a non-stick cooking spray.

Cut fish in half to create 8 small fillets. Sprinkle with garlic, thyme, basil and lemon zest then drizzle with lemon juice and 1 tablespoon olive oil. Wrap each fillet with a slice or two of prosciutto, leaving ends of fillets unwrapped. Drizzle with 1 tablespoon oil again and place on a prepared baking sheet.

Bake fish until firm and white at unwrapped ends, about 15 to 20 minutes (may take longer to bake if fillets are thick). Place tomatoes and shallots on the other baking pan and drizzle with remaining olive oil. Bake tomatoes and shallots until lightly browned. Once shallots are cooled slightly, chop. Remove skins from tomatoes if necessary. Set all aside until time to serve.

While fish bakes, bring a large pot of water to a boil. Peel skin off zucchini with an ordinary hand-held “Y” peeler. Discard outer green strips. Continue peeling inner white flesh into thin ribbons. Stop when reaching center and seeds of zucchini. (Discard any inner seeds and flesh.) When water boils, lower heat so that water gently simmers. Add zucchini ribbons. Cook zucchini for 30 seconds to 1 minute, then remove with a slotted spoon and drain thoroughly in a bowl. Set aside.

Combine all coulis ingredients into a food processor and pureé. Transfer to a sauté pan and cook over medium heat until thick, about 5 minutes. Cover and remove from heat.

Prepare a large plate with 2 corn tostada shells. Spread about 2 or 3 tablespoons coulis on each tostada shell then layer each shell with a handful of lettuce, zucchini ribbons, tomatoes and shallots. Top each with a prosciutto-wrapped fish fillet. Then sprinkle Parmesan cheese and parsley over each mound. Repeat with remaining ingredients to create 3 more plates. Serve. Yields 8 tostadas (4 servings).

About Angela Milani

My love of cooking has taken over. I was on the net one day and saw an ad for a recipe contest. I entered. Then, I entered another. Then another, and so on and when I won a contest... an entire year's worth of tomato products, I was hooked. Since then, I've entered many many different recipe contests. I have won a trip to New York, entries into cook-offs, a recipe published in a Kraft/Paula Deen cookbook and many food products and food related items. I enjoy cooking and entering recipe contests. I hope I spark an interest in others to create something they can be proud of. I'm always getting more ideas from the internet. Wow, I remember not having the internet years ago. It's a God send and I'm trying to cover every inch of the food sites!! Join me in my quest to keep fresh ideas flowing and creating new and exciting dishes.
This entry was posted in Contest, Fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Dish IS Healthy!! AND I’m Invited to the Cook-OFF

  1. Angie Walker says:

    That sounds absolutely wonderful…..And I love zucchini ribbons!! I don’t boil mine though, I put them in a hot skillet lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Heat them up, and they are good to go….
    Good luck to you Angela!!

Leave a comment